Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2013, 2:09 AM
MMXX's Avatar
MMXX MMXX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ebay
Posts: 322
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Unhappy Windows XP full restore problem. (May Need a Disk)

I own a HP running windows XP media center.
I was trying to run a full restore to set the computer to factory settings.
While doing a system restore (not from a disk) I created an XP version (not XP media center). During this process my computer ran out of memory and the XP restore failed and gave me a new set of problems.

Is there a way to erase the 2nd operating system data, from boot menu?
Do I need a XP media center disc or just a XP disc?

Any advise? Anyone willing to let me borrow there copy (I have serial not a disc)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2013, 9:25 AM
Andric's Avatar
Andric Andric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: West LA
Posts: 198
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

When you say ran out of memory do you mean hard drive space?

I have XP Home and am in LA if you that helps you out at all. When you have the disk you can delete the additional partition you setup with the 2nd operating system you just created to free up drive space.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2013, 6:29 PM
MMXX's Avatar
MMXX MMXX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ebay
Posts: 322
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andric View Post
When you say ran out of memory do you mean hard drive space?
Yes. When the computer boots up it takes about an hour then every process takes about 30 min.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andric View Post
I have XP Home and am in LA if you that helps you out at all. When you have the disk you can delete the additional partition you setup with the 2nd operating system you just created to free up drive space.
I sent a pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2013, 8:20 PM
someoneeasy someoneeasy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Garden Grove
Posts: 1,388
iTrader: 21 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMXX View Post
I own a HP running windows XP media center.
I was trying to run a full restore to set the computer to factory settings.
While doing a system restore (not from a disk) I created an XP version (not XP media center). During this process my computer ran out of memory and the XP restore failed and gave me a new set of problems.

Is there a way to erase the 2nd operating system data, from boot menu?
Do I need a XP media center disc or just a XP disc?

Any advise? Anyone willing to let me borrow there copy (I have serial not a disc)
if you're near Orange County, I have a disc you can borrow
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2013, 8:21 PM
LittleOldLady's Avatar
LittleOldLady LittleOldLady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 240
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMXX View Post
I own a HP running windows XP media center.
I was trying to run a full restore to set the computer to factory settings.
While doing a system restore (not from a disk) I created an XP version (not XP media center). During this process my computer ran out of memory and the XP restore failed and gave me a new set of problems.

Is there a way to erase the 2nd operating system data, from boot menu?
Do I need a XP media center disc or just a XP disc?

Any advise? Anyone willing to let me borrow there copy (I have serial not a disc)
This will take it off the boot menu:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/289022

This will delete the second copy of windows:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888023

It sounds like one of the copies became corrupted when you changed to a different version.

If you are willing to start completely from scratch meaning losing all data/files/pictures/internet explorer favorites, I am sure that there is an option on the restore to start from scratch.
Or are you meaning you used the software windows provides to restore to an earlier time?
Please provide additional data ie: what EXACTLY did you do?

Remember that any goofing around doing this and you will lose everything. Be sure to back up your stuff off of your computer to a external source and unplug it when making any changes!
__________________
"But if someone has a gun and is trying to kill you ... it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun."

Dalai Lama

A system of licensing and registration is the perfect device to deny gun ownership to the bourgeoisie.

Vladimir Ilyich Lenin

Last edited by LittleOldLady; 11-17-2013 at 8:30 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2013, 4:33 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is online now
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,492
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Find an XP Pro HP OEM disc... and stop having issues.

Personally, Media Center never offered me anything worthy of mention.

(Pear Linux x64 makes Windows issues go away... )
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2013, 5:51 AM
Germz's Avatar
Germz Germz is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4,755
iTrader: 85 / 100%
Blog Entries: 6
Default

If you are getting two options of OS to boot when you start your computer: run >> msconfig.ini and remove the one you dont want. not sure if that will help your cause but its a start!
__________________

ALL ITEMS FOR SALE ARE FROM NORTH SD COUNTY AND WILL SHIP (EXCEPT AMMO CANS)


$30 - M16 PREBAN Magazines - ***30+ AVAILABLE***
$7 - .30 CAL AMMO CANS

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2013, 7:39 PM
sigsour223's Avatar
sigsour223 sigsour223 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Reseda
Posts: 480
iTrader: 13 / 100%
Default

get an apple
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2013, 5:58 AM
LittleOldLady's Avatar
LittleOldLady LittleOldLady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 240
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigsour223 View Post
get an apple

That is what I did. But I did not want to sound like a MAC snob
__________________
"But if someone has a gun and is trying to kill you ... it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun."

Dalai Lama

A system of licensing and registration is the perfect device to deny gun ownership to the bourgeoisie.

Vladimir Ilyich Lenin
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2013, 9:57 AM
MMXX's Avatar
MMXX MMXX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ebay
Posts: 322
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default Haven't had time to mess around with this yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleOldLady View Post
This will take it off the boot menu:
Or are you meaning you used the software windows provides to restore to an earlier time?
I did use windows software to try to restore to initial settings (just OS)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleOldLady View Post
Remember that any goofing around doing this and you will lose everything.
That is what I want except the I want the OS left
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-30-2013, 10:01 AM
MMXX's Avatar
MMXX MMXX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ebay
Posts: 322
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigsour223 View Post
get an apple
I have an Apple "notebook" but never again will I get another space heater.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-02-2013, 6:50 PM
bg bg is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Who cares
Posts: 5,211
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I have used this company to buy branded MS software with zero probs.
The media is branded, but install just like OEM software. I have used
Windows 7 Pro on a number of client's repaired units and all updates,
everything, etc works just fine.


http://www.snaggstuff.com/microsoft-...-oem-dell.html
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-02-2013, 7:20 PM
epilepticninja's Avatar
epilepticninja epilepticninja is offline
misanthrope
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a van, down by the river...
Posts: 3,440
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

What is Win XP? Is that like the 8-track cassette?
__________________
"You are asking how a watch works, when you should just mind the time."

- Alejandro Gillick
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-07-2013, 1:00 PM
catmman's Avatar
catmman catmman is offline
CGSSA Coordinator
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 430
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

BG has a good tip on the site. Beats the 100 bucks I paid a year ago to make a system legit for a relative.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-07-2013, 1:56 PM
blazeaglory's Avatar
blazeaglory blazeaglory is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,297
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bg View Post
I have used this company to buy branded MS software with zero probs.
The media is branded, but install just like OEM software. I have used
Windows 7 Pro on a number of client's repaired units and all updates,
everything, etc works just fine.


http://www.snaggstuff.com/microsoft-...-oem-dell.html
Other than that XP disc, why is everything on that site excluded from being shipped to CA?
__________________
A note to the NSA or anyone gathering information on me, this disclaimer is for you..."Everything I type on this website Is purely fictional and for entertainment purposes only. None of it is true."

Also, sometimes I type in CAPS to emphasize a POINT. Please dont interpret that as YELLING. Sorry if I HURT any fuzzy little bunny's FEELINGS out there.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-08-2013, 8:08 AM
bg bg is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Who cares
Posts: 5,211
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blazeaglory View Post
Other than that XP disc, why is everything on that site excluded from being shipped to CA?
That's interesting. I didn't realize this until I got to looking around
since all I'm after is cheap MS OS software with disc. I have a few
W7 discs from them that are branded and work fine.

They don't collect tax so maybe that's why. I don't know, but I've
never had problems getting their software nor installing nor getting
it authorized by MS.

That is puzzling, I admit.

Last edited by bg; 12-08-2013 at 8:13 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:08 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.