Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2013, 6:48 PM
GM4spd's Avatar
GM4spd GM4spd is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ventura County
Posts: 3,983
iTrader: 81 / 100%
Default Smart TV question

I have a new Samsung smart Tv,can I use it without my Verizon cable
box and still receive all the Verizon channels? I'd like to use the box
with an older TV to get all the channels on the older set,without
having to pay for an additional box.. Pete
__________________
NRA LIFE (1974)
No,my Colt ARs came already assembled---correctly!
I had a commission/USNR from 71-77 but never consider myself a Veteran.
The problem is HEADSPACE between the ears!
Obama for 8 years will be the worst thing to happen to
our country since the Civil War.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2013, 8:28 PM
the_natterjack's Avatar
the_natterjack the_natterjack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,053
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Verizon Cable? never used it but if it's like Comcast the channels are scrambled.

So you'll probably need a second box.

- Brian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2013, 4:08 PM
Darryl Licht's Avatar
Darryl Licht Darryl Licht is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Inland Empire between the mountains, the desert, and the beach
Posts: 2,310
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GM4spd View Post
I have a new Samsung smart Tv,can I use it without my Verizon cable
box and still receive all the Verizon channels? I'd like to use the box
with an older TV to get all the channels on the older set,without
having to pay for an additional box.. Pete
Help us help you!

What is the model of said TV, so we could check specs?

I've never seen a smart TV that will unscramble ATSC/NTSC/Clear QAM channels. Usually "Smart" implies the TV can access and play media from a network, HD, or USB drive. They also have apps that will allow you to watch Internet content if connected to your home Wi-Fi or wired Internet connection.

It's a smart TV, not an Einstein!
__________________
Quote:
"Laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed one.
--Thomas Jefferson
Quote:
Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it everywhere, diagnosing it incorrectly and applying the wrong remedies. --Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2013, 6:49 PM
nephrodoc nephrodoc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 560
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Mine only gets the basic cable channels without the box, but I have Time Warner. The smart only refers to the apps and wifi that is built into it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2013, 6:52 PM
Yugo's Avatar
Yugo Yugo is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Fernando Valley
Posts: 8,014
iTrader: 39 / 98%
Default

NO!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by WAMO556 View Post
Voting for Donald Trump is the protest vote against: Keynesian economics, Neocon wars, exporting jobs, open borders, Washington criminal cartel, too big to fail banks and too big to jail pols and banksters.

Cutting off foreign aid to EVERY country and dismantling the police/surveillance state!

Umm yeah!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2013, 6:54 PM
Yugo's Avatar
Yugo Yugo is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Fernando Valley
Posts: 8,014
iTrader: 39 / 98%
Default

You can split the video signal from 1 box but you will be watching same picture on both TV's.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by WAMO556 View Post
Voting for Donald Trump is the protest vote against: Keynesian economics, Neocon wars, exporting jobs, open borders, Washington criminal cartel, too big to fail banks and too big to jail pols and banksters.

Cutting off foreign aid to EVERY country and dismantling the police/surveillance state!

Umm yeah!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2013, 7:42 PM
den888's Avatar
den888 den888 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 10,260
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

The answer is NO! Smart usually means access to the internet, etc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2013, 7:44 PM
Yugo's Avatar
Yugo Yugo is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Fernando Valley
Posts: 8,014
iTrader: 39 / 98%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by den888 View Post
The answer is NO! Smart usually means access to the internet, etc
HAHA smart usually means DUMB. I would say 89%-94% of people with a smart TV don't even know how to use it and all they needed was a monitor. In fact most people just need a monitor because majority use some sort of cable box.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by WAMO556 View Post
Voting for Donald Trump is the protest vote against: Keynesian economics, Neocon wars, exporting jobs, open borders, Washington criminal cartel, too big to fail banks and too big to jail pols and banksters.

Cutting off foreign aid to EVERY country and dismantling the police/surveillance state!

Umm yeah!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-06-2013, 4:40 PM
UBFRAGD UBFRAGD is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Shotspotter on every roof
Posts: 2,704
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

I bought a really nice and expensive smart tv and I hate it completely. All that money that could've gone into better picture quality.....

The apps suck. The interface sucks. It's slow sometimes. It needs updating constantly. It needs verification codes constantly. Anything worth watching costs more. It's barely hardly customizable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-06-2013, 4:52 PM
Brianguy's Avatar
Brianguy Brianguy is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,839
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

you still need the box to decrypt the channels. as others said your tv has internet capabilities and most likely a bunch of apps such as netflix, hulu, and amazon on demand. if you subscribe to basic tv (the channels that are free over the air) that's broadcast over clear qam (unencrypted) you can ditch the box. i believe there was a new law that allows cable companies to encrypt OTA channels on their lines.

Last edited by Brianguy; 10-06-2013 at 5:00 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-07-2013, 3:29 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,634
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Get a TV with more inputs, rather than a smart TV.

I don't own a smart TV, mainly because they are more expensive, and I'd rather just switch inputs and have stand-alone devices for each thing I want to view. My parent have a smart TV and it takes forever to switch to their netflix app, wait for it to load...

Roku or other option is better in my book.

Android-based streaming-box or something can be upgraded as your TV parts can't... with just a trip down to the local store that sells streaming devices.

Assume you have your TV for 10 years (?) and if you had the best Roku of it's day... today it drags it's feet, and assume you can't upgrade it... that is how I see SmartTVs.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:59 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.