Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2013, 1:16 AM
syferstream syferstream is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 38
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default YouTube is suffocating me! Please help!

Have you guys been on YouTube lately? My connection speed is not the problem I assure you guys. I have 12mb download speed through Uverse with AT&T, but I can't even watch a 5min clip in 240p. At some point it stops buffering. Moreover, I tried making my own blog and embedding the YouTube videos I want to watch because I read somewhere that alleviates the buffering problem. It was a no go for me. I'll be grateful for some advice/tips people!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2013, 1:23 AM
BushcraftToday's Avatar
BushcraftToday BushcraftToday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 138
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

It may be your computer, not your connection speed.


Sent from my Tactical Communication Device. ΜΟ;;ΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ;
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2013, 1:52 AM
johnthomas's Avatar
johnthomas johnthomas is online now
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Monterey County
Posts: 5,844
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Download this. When the site comes up, it says on the left, download, that is the free one. The buy now on the right will cost you.
During the setup, un click everything except desktop icon. That way, you run the program. It will clean temporary files, then click on the registry button, after it is done it asks if you want to say what is deleted, click no then fix problem or problems.

http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner
__________________
If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or your arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen.
Samuel Adams
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2013, 10:27 AM
bohoki's Avatar
bohoki bohoki is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 95492
Posts: 18,078
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Default

its youtube google took over and basically prevents your videos from preloading even on pause the place is screwed up now
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2013, 10:40 AM
NytWolf NytWolf is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,911
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Time to boycott.

They've stopped extensions/add-ons from downloading videos too.

Last edited by NytWolf; 08-13-2013 at 10:44 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2013, 12:42 AM
bg bg is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Who cares
Posts: 5,211
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

It may not be your pc or internet. Mine was doing the same
thing and very irritating. However I may gave found the fix.

Pull up a youboob vid. When it starts to play, right click on a lower
corner of the vis and puil up Flash Player Settings. UNCLICK THE
BOX for hardware accelerators making sure the box is cleared,
then close settings window. Replay the vid, or go to another site
then back to YOUTUBE and try playing a vid. Seems there is
something fishy about the Adobe Flash Player's latest versions.

HTH's, but in this, not always.

Last edited by bg; 08-18-2013 at 9:36 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2013, 2:17 AM
bohoki's Avatar
bohoki bohoki is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 95492
Posts: 18,078
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NytWolf View Post
Time to boycott.

They've stopped extensions/add-ons from downloading videos too.
keepvid worked for me a little while ago but i picked a low rez
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2013, 5:23 PM
CWDraco's Avatar
CWDraco CWDraco is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Camarillo
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnthomas View Post
Download this. When the site comes up, it says on the left, download, that is the free one. The buy now on the right will cost you.
During the setup, un click everything except desktop icon. That way, you run the program. It will clean temporary files, then click on the registry button, after it is done it asks if you want to say what is deleted, click no then fix problem or problems.

http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner
1.5G of trash and over 1700 registry errors
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-18-2013, 11:36 PM
bohoki's Avatar
bohoki bohoki is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 95492
Posts: 18,078
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moond0ggie View Post
That should do it.....
doesnt help for me youtupe jsut wont spool for me like it did a couple years ago
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2013, 9:00 AM
CWDraco's Avatar
CWDraco CWDraco is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Camarillo
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bohoki View Post
doesnt help for me youtupe jsut wont spool for me like it did a couple years ago
there was a bug awhile back were you had to delete google + or something like that. I remember vids wouldnt load for me and my daughter told me to kill my google + account. I dont really remember I know it had something to do with the other account taking too long and clogging up the bandwidth. It also stopped people from posting replies on videos. It was in the YouTube forums.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-20-2013, 12:18 AM
CGT80 CGT80 is online now
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fontana, CA USA
Posts: 2,769
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

You tube has sucked lately and it used to run great. I run firefox and ad block plus. My connection varies from 8-19 mbps on time warner cable. I killed off google + a while back.

I agree that google is crap now. The search engine is pretty good, but now they are trying to turn everything you do on a device into a "facebook" experience. To hell with social media. It is just advertising/data sharing media. Forums actually serve a purpose, other than to just give away my info and look at advertisements.
__________________
He who dies with the most tools/toys wins
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-20-2013, 5:57 AM
FourLoko's Avatar
FourLoko FourLoko is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,447
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

same crap over here, terrible
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-20-2013, 9:18 AM
RobertMW's Avatar
RobertMW RobertMW is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: 707
Posts: 2,119
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

May be a bug with flash, like bg said. They've also changed their streaming format several times. People with older computers sometimes just don't have the correct hardware to decode directly, so it runs through your CPU, or tries to do so on your hardware (gfx card, on board graphics) reallly slow, which is why turning off hardware acc. will help in some cases.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-20-2013, 11:38 AM
bohoki's Avatar
bohoki bohoki is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 95492
Posts: 18,078
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Default

so many idea how to fix problems that are caused by youtube none of them work
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-20-2013, 1:42 PM
Napalm Bulldog's Avatar
Napalm Bulldog Napalm Bulldog is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: On the Death Star
Posts: 4,143
iTrader: 35 / 100%
Default

I keep getting thrown to another page that states content could not be opened/ played. I hit the back arrow and watch the video anyway.
__________________


"I'm damned glad to be here..." George Patton
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-21-2013, 1:16 PM
castelen's Avatar
castelen castelen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Try to use another browser?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-21-2013, 6:11 PM
remusrm remusrm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 48
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

It's AT&T throttling you. Twc does the same. Look it up online
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-21-2013, 9:53 PM
syferstream syferstream is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 38
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BushcraftToday View Post
It may be your computer, not your connection speed.


Sent from my Tactical Communication Device. ΜΟ;;ΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ;

Sorry, sir, my laptop doesn't have a problem buffering when I go to dailymotion or vimeo.


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnthomas View Post
Download this. When the site comes up, it says on the left, download, that is the free one. The buy now on the right will cost you.
During the setup, un click everything except desktop icon. That way, you run the program. It will clean temporary files, then click on the registry button, after it is done it asks if you want to say what is deleted, click no then fix problem or problems.

http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner

Thanks for the tip johnthomas, but alas your prescribed method didn't work for me
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-21-2013, 10:14 PM
syferstream syferstream is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 38
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bg View Post
It may not be your pc or internet. Mine was doing the same
thing and very irritating. However I may gave found the fix.

Pull up a youboob vid. When it starts to play, right click on a lower
corner of the vis and puil up Flash Player Settings. UNCLICK THE
BOX for hardware accelerators making sure the box is cleared,
then close settings window. Replay the vid, or go to another site
then back to YOUTUBE and try playing a vid. Seems there is
something fishy about the Adobe Flash Player's latest versions.

HTH's, but in this, not always.

Thank you for your suggestion bg; I tried it, but it doesn't work. Also, what's weird is the fact that the settings option doesn't always come up when I right click the video. I tried it like 20x, and just this one time when the video buffering froze was when I saw the option. After that one time I didn't see it again. Would you have any knowledge as to why this happens to me? Furthermore, can you explain what I did when I disabled hardware accelerators like how does it help specifically?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CWDraco View Post
there was a bug awhile back were you had to delete google + or something like that. I remember vids wouldnt load for me and my daughter told me to kill my google + account. I dont really remember I know it had something to do with the other account taking too long and clogging up the bandwidth. It also stopped people from posting replies on videos. It was in the YouTube forums.

If I have a gmail account does that automatically mean I have a google+ account? To be honest I don't know what this google+ account is. Sorry if I'm a bit slow can you please elaborate?


Also this is to anyone out there who can be a good samaritan. How do you use this multi-quote function? I had to post two replies to quote and respond to the users who gave me a tip to try out. Anyway I can make life easier and do it in one go? Sorry as you can tell I'm new around the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-21-2013, 10:17 PM
syferstream syferstream is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 38
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remusrm View Post
It's AT&T throttling you. Twc does the same. Look it up online
I can agree with you that could be the problem. Now, can you give me a solution as to how I can resolve it? I'd be glad to resolve this youtube nonsense as quickly as possible because it'll be good for my health: it helps to keep my blood pressure down.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-22-2013, 9:30 AM
kermit315's Avatar
kermit315 kermit315 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Where the truth is valued
Posts: 5,922
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

I noticed this happening the last few days, but thought it was because I was overseas and the internet was spotty.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by leok20 View Post
To me Law Enforcement are guilty until proven innocent.
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrage View Post
Over reaction to non-crimes by State loyalists. If they keep up their heavy handed crap, soon it'll be a better gamble to shoot at cops before they even start bothering you considering the amount of time they're willing to put you in prison for if you cooperate.

Seems like that pendulum is about to shift.
Is this your Calguns?

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-22-2013, 2:11 PM
kermit315's Avatar
kermit315 kermit315 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Where the truth is valued
Posts: 5,922
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Just noticed that I have an internet enabled TV via a hardline into an access point. Pulled up youtube on there and have the same problem....grr.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by leok20 View Post
To me Law Enforcement are guilty until proven innocent.
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrage View Post
Over reaction to non-crimes by State loyalists. If they keep up their heavy handed crap, soon it'll be a better gamble to shoot at cops before they even start bothering you considering the amount of time they're willing to put you in prison for if you cooperate.

Seems like that pendulum is about to shift.
Is this your Calguns?

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-22-2013, 2:22 PM
Montu Montu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The Free State of Arizona
Posts: 1,433
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

start > run > type in "cmd"

punch in the following:
"netsh advfirewall firewall add rule name="YouTubePerformanceHack" dir=in action=block remoteip=173.194.55.0/24,206.111.0.0/16 enable=yes"

hit enter

what this does is block the youtube cache servers so that youtube has to stream directly to you...some ISP's throttle known cache servers

let me know if that helps you at all.
__________________
K.F.K|Μολὼν λαβέ

Last edited by Montu; 08-22-2013 at 2:35 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-22-2013, 9:17 PM
bohoki's Avatar
bohoki bohoki is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 95492
Posts: 18,078
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Default

my computer says

following command not found advfirewall maybe i can log into my router and block it there
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-22-2013, 9:43 PM
Montu Montu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The Free State of Arizona
Posts: 1,433
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bohoki View Post
my computer says

following command not found advfirewall maybe i can log into my router and block it there
yea doesn't matter how you block it..as long as it gets blocked

the command is meant for windows 7/8..you should be able to just adjust it through the firewall gui
__________________
K.F.K|Μολὼν λαβέ

Last edited by Montu; 08-23-2013 at 8:04 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-23-2013, 8:54 PM
syferstream syferstream is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 38
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Montu View Post
start > run > type in "cmd"

punch in the following:
"netsh advfirewall firewall add rule name="YouTubePerformanceHack" dir=in action=block remoteip=173.194.55.0/24,206.111.0.0/16 enable=yes"

hit enter

what this does is block the youtube cache servers so that youtube has to stream directly to you...some ISP's throttle known cache servers

let me know if that helps you at all.

I had my fingers crossed the whole time as I did this, but I only got 40 seconds into a YouTube video before it froze. It is a slight improvement from 20 seconds before freezing.

Montu are you a techie? Would you have more advice(s) on how to fix this YouTube problem?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-24-2013, 10:35 AM
Montu Montu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The Free State of Arizona
Posts: 1,433
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

have you chexked to see if you have the same problem when using another browser or playing videos with html5?
__________________
K.F.K|Μολὼν λαβέ
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-24-2013, 12:25 PM
HOGLEG's Avatar
HOGLEG HOGLEG is offline
Senior Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 917
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

My problems were resolved by updating my flash player.

https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/95402
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:41 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.