Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2013, 11:15 PM
SouperMan SouperMan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,465
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default Bad T-Mobile coverage at home? Free amplifiers program

I have had poor reception inside my house with 1-2 bars of signal since I switched to a Galaxy Nexus and I can't use WiFi calling. I contacted customer service at 611 a few months ago, and was told to keep checking once a month until tonight; T-Mobile has signal amplifiers available.

These signal amplifiers from do not need a internet connection; it will boost the signal of the available reception to your house. You simply place the wireless antenna unit near the window and plug in the other unit in a central area near your house to provide coverage for even coverage for the entire house. This is unlike AT&T and some other carriers which was offering Femtocell which requires you to plug in a internet connection (Think: phone to femtocell to internet to AT&T).

These devices are free if you are in good standing with T-Mobile, they only work with T-Mobile and you must return the devices if you leave them, otherwise it is going to be a $500 charge. Also, you must have at least 1 bar of coverage in your house in order for this device to work. Have at it!

More info from T-Mobile is here.

Company who makes the product that can be purchased directly for $575; they also make it for AT&T.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2013, 7:56 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied Commiefornia
Posts: 6,550
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

(There is only 2 places I ever go that has 1 bar of signal, and they are a 3 out of 4 corners businesses at a local intersection in Murrieta, and Hometown Buffet in Temecula.)

If I ever move to a place that this is an issue I will look this up.

Outside your house does data/calling work fine?

I understand their OLD policy was something along the lines of "can not guarantee service indoors"...
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds

Last edited by the86d; 08-04-2013 at 8:00 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2013, 8:57 AM
den888's Avatar
den888 den888 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alameda County / East Bay
Posts: 10,571
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

I have two cell phones (one T-Mobile and one Verizon) and the Verizon unit has weak signals inside. Does Verizon have such a device?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2013, 9:23 AM
Diskrete Diskrete is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 427
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

I.will be making this call later today or tomorrow, we just moved, had excellent coverage at the old house, Piss poor service inside the new house. Not even a bar inside and 1 maybe 2 when were outside.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:46 PM
SouperMan SouperMan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,465
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the86d View Post
(There is only 2 places I ever go that has 1 bar of signal, and they are a 3 out of 4 corners businesses at a local intersection in Murrieta, and Hometown Buffet in Temecula.)

If I ever move to a place that this is an issue I will look this up.

Outside your house does data/calling work fine?

I understand their OLD policy was something along the lines of "can not guarantee service indoors"...
Outside the house, just adequate-about 3 bars. The funny thing is that I live in a area that has full 4G LTE coverage; which I cannot take advantage of as I do not have a LTE device. I live in a fairly dense enough area development has precluded to get more cell towers near by, hoping that when the device comes in it will boost the signal enough for me for at least decent and consistent data coverage. I'll do before and after posts of signal results when I receive the device.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:49 PM
SouperMan SouperMan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,465
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by den888 View Post
I have two cell phones (one T-Mobile and one Verizon) and the Verizon unit has weak signals inside. Does Verizon have such a device?
As a matter of a fact, Verizon does and it's a Femtocell (needs internet). Not sure, but you might have to pay for this. Try calling customer service and see if they can help you out. Customer loyalty should still count for something these days.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2013, 4:57 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied Commiefornia
Posts: 6,550
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

All my 4G (non LTE?) phones have zip along at about 6Mbps/3-4Mbps on 2-3 bar areas, on average.

LTE looks better, but I have no complaints but those 2 dead spots, and I think I had the same issue with VZW 3G in those areas, when I had VZW.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2013, 7:18 AM
sd_shooter's Avatar
sd_shooter sd_shooter is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 7,810
iTrader: 77 / 100%
Default

Are you sure this offer is still valid? I see this on the website:

Quote:
Note: At this time, the T-Mobile Signal Booster offer has been suspended indefinitely. We apologize for any inconvenience and will update this document once they are available again.
Link:
http://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-4683
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2013, 7:40 AM
Beelzy's Avatar
Beelzy Beelzy is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central,Ca
Posts: 8,187
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

T-Mobile is having issues. Coverage area has shrunk, service has hiccups, and customer
support in my area sucks. I told them to shove their hotspot and went with Verizon.
__________________
. If you don't like what I say, it obviously means you're listening.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2013, 8:21 AM
den888's Avatar
den888 den888 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alameda County / East Bay
Posts: 10,571
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

Thanks, I will!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SouperMan View Post
As a matter of a fact, Verizon does and it's a Femtocell (needs internet). Not sure, but you might have to pay for this. Try calling customer service and see if they can help you out. Customer loyalty should still count for something these days.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-05-2013, 10:52 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied Commiefornia
Posts: 6,550
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Verizon and Sprint also have similar devices, but I was told they have to be in a Window ([in]direct GPS required, so not in a wiring closet?), plugged into your LAN.

I have noticed recently that I have another dead-spot near work... a power-cycle, or quick-switch to Airplane-mode, and then back usually fixes it, but I had that issue all the time in that area with Nextel after Sprint merged (or was it absorbed?) with them at least a few time a week.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-2013, 11:26 AM
bigbearbear bigbearbear is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4,968
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I have the AT&T Microstation (femtocell) at home, coverage is very spotty for me at home (1 to 2 bars, easily dropped calls) but since using the Microstation it has been excellent. It is really nice to have the cell phone sound just like landlines. It has security features too, only registered phones can use your Microstation so you don't have to worry about neighbors standing close to your home in order to get better cell phone signals and making calls via your broadband internet.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-05-2013, 11:53 AM
inbox485's Avatar
inbox485 inbox485 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Riverside County
Posts: 3,709
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Very cool. I don't have T-Mobile because of coverage issues, but they were always bar none the best customer service I've dealt with.
__________________
Up for rent...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-05-2013, 12:07 PM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied Commiefornia
Posts: 6,550
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

The Sidekick 4g had GREAT WiFi calling, almost landline quality but Samsung and T-Mobile screwed ("customized") Android so bad that it was interface was virtually unusable even for a minimalist, like myself.

The Relay 4g WiFi calling will spit garble in both directions every 1.5-2 minutes for about 7 seconds.

Has anyone had good luck with WiFi calling on some of the newer phones? (I have a MyTouch 4g Slide arriving for my son today, and wondering...)
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-05-2013, 3:14 PM
SouperMan SouperMan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,465
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shooter View Post
Are you sure this offer is still valid? I see this on the website:



Link:
http://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-4683
Despite seeing that, I called in and I got my unit shipped.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-05-2013, 3:17 PM
SouperMan SouperMan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,465
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the86d View Post
The Sidekick 4g had GREAT WiFi calling, almost landline quality but Samsung and T-Mobile screwed ("customized") Android so bad that it was interface was virtually unusable even for a minimalist, like myself.

The Relay 4g WiFi calling will spit garble in both directions every 1.5-2 minutes for about 7 seconds.

Has anyone had good luck with WiFi calling on some of the newer phones? (I have a MyTouch 4g Slide arriving for my son today, and wondering...)
Only if it was a branded T-Mobile device. I had it with my BlackBerry and the ill-fated G2X. If T-Mobile opened up and released SIP settings, most, if not all Android devices can take advantage of VoIP but I can sorta see why they wont.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-06-2013, 4:32 PM
Spyder's Avatar
Spyder Spyder is offline
Just me, baby. Just me.
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In a shack, in the woods
Posts: 10,844
iTrader: 97 / 100%
Default

I got the thing from T-Mobile to try and get more service out of my Sensation4G, but it did nothing for me. You have to at least have 3G service where you are, to be able to use the thing. I get about one bar and maybe 1G on a good night.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-08-2013, 12:41 AM
lanwarrior's Avatar
lanwarrior lanwarrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Walnut Creek
Posts: 579
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I assume this is only free if you have a contact with them? What about with the new plan where there is no contract?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-09-2013, 10:30 AM
BigPimping's Avatar
BigPimping BigPimping is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Roasting those freaks in the hood
Posts: 15,602
iTrader: 57 / 100%
Default

I have had T Mobile for the last 7 years and I have five phones on my plan. getting through to them to solve any kind of a problem is like getting through to God. then all I hear is their robotic customer service response with no help whatsoever. At the end of my contract I am gone
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-09-2013, 10:42 AM
Diskrete Diskrete is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 427
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Yeah, even though it will help coverage, I kind of been dreading the call. Had an issue with them a few months back, when we started with them something got screwed up in billing and we were getting charged double. We called every month and were told not to pay it and credits were coming, than finally the phones got shut off every month and we'd have to call for them to turn them back on, which meant explaining to the first contact, then trying to get a supervisor to review and find the original sin. Eventually we got a manager who fixed it all, it took us threatening to leave... I have 8 months left on this contract, will call for this eventually, but might find myself shopping soon.

Sent from my HTC_Amaze_4G using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-11-2013, 6:54 AM
lanwarrior's Avatar
lanwarrior lanwarrior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Near Walnut Creek
Posts: 579
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbearbear View Post
I have the AT&T Microstation (femtocell) at home, coverage is very spotty for me at home (1 to 2 bars, easily dropped calls) but since using the Microstation it has been excellent. It is really nice to have the cell phone sound just like landlines. It has security features too, only registered phones can use your Microstation so you don't have to worry about neighbors standing close to your home in order to get better cell phone signals and making calls via your broadband internet.
How did you get it? Was it for free?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-15-2013, 9:40 PM
ambiguous216's Avatar
ambiguous216 ambiguous216 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,269
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Default

Its so amazing that T-Mobile customers have accepted the fact the are given poor cell coverage and the WiFi calling overshadows the lousy service. Why pay monthly for a service that does not work on its own? Basically you need WiFi life support to make a call? And to top it off let me let you upgrade anytime you want twice a year by charging your a montly fee for that club! Still great service and customer service?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-15-2013, 9:52 PM
inbox485's Avatar
inbox485 inbox485 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Riverside County
Posts: 3,709
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ambiguous216 View Post
Its so amazing that T-Mobile customers have accepted the fact the are given poor cell coverage and the WiFi calling overshadows the lousy service. Why pay monthly for a service that does not work on its own? Basically you need WiFi life support to make a call? And to top it off let me let you upgrade anytime you want twice a year by charging your a montly fee for that club! Still great service and customer service?
Great service? No, I had them way back when they had solid coverage. I tried them again a few years ago and dropped them 15 days later because service was patchy where my wife worked.

Great customer service? Dude, it is best in class. None of the call center hell that every other major company on earth seems to think is acceptable.
__________________
Up for rent...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-16-2013, 5:03 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied Commiefornia
Posts: 6,550
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ambiguous216 View Post
Its so amazing that T-Mobile customers have accepted the fact the are given poor cell coverage and the WiFi calling overshadows the lousy service. Why pay monthly for a service that does not work on its own? Basically you need WiFi life support to make a call? And to top it off let me let you upgrade anytime you want twice a year by charging your a montly fee for that club! Still great service and customer service?
I actually had about the exact same service with Verizon on 3g. I would miss calls in my office behind some concrete walls... I would have to hold my phone an awkward way to get clear voice. I would also not get calls on VZW either, but the WiFi calling helps above and beyond cell service at work. I had some dead spots with VZW in the sticks, but I don't go there enough to test T-Mobile in these same sticks... as I now have a range membership.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds

Last edited by the86d; 08-16-2013 at 5:07 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-16-2013, 6:10 AM
vliberatore's Avatar
vliberatore vliberatore is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 10,479
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Femto > booster. It will be more reliable and give you better speeds.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by fighterpilot562 View Post
Damn it man! We could have got drunk, called a taxi and drop by Kest house with a mega phone.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-16-2013, 6:51 AM
Beelzy's Avatar
Beelzy Beelzy is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central,Ca
Posts: 8,187
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Can't boost what you don't have folks......T-Mobile is going to be looking at a class action suit one of these days.
__________________
. If you don't like what I say, it obviously means you're listening.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-16-2013, 8:05 AM
tuolumnejim's Avatar
tuolumnejim tuolumnejim is online now
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stagecoach, Nv.
Posts: 10,150
iTrader: 29 / 100%
Default

Absolutely hate t-mobile, I never had a signal at home and barely had one anywhere in my County.
Before I went to them their coverage map said it was "good" everywhere I went but I never had a signal.
__________________
Malo periculosam libertatem quam quietam servitutem
"I prefer liberty with danger to peace with slavery"
Count Palatine of Posen

“If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or your arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen.”
Samuel Adams
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-16-2013, 8:45 AM
sd_shooter's Avatar
sd_shooter sd_shooter is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 7,810
iTrader: 77 / 100%
Default

Just ordered one by calling 611, first lady transferred me to an "account specialist" and the second one had no problem sending me one. No cost, and even the return shipping if free if I want to send it back.

Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-22-2013, 9:14 PM
sd_shooter's Avatar
sd_shooter sd_shooter is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 7,810
iTrader: 77 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shooter View Post
Just ordered one by calling 611, first lady transferred me to an "account specialist" and the second one had no problem sending me one. No cost, and even the return shipping if free if I want to send it back.

Got the unit today, plugged it in. Away from the middle of the house, I now get 1-2 more bars more than before. In the middle of the house I get a full set!

Not bad for a totally free system. Before this I got one bar everywhere and calls were unreliable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:01 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.