Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2013, 1:26 PM
stilly's Avatar
stilly stilly is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,369
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default All of a sudden Diablo II will not run on my master system.

It starts, goes into battlenet and then locks up after about a minute of playing. Screen freezes actually although I can hear the music and ambient noise adn then I get a message telling me that the adapter stopped responding to the resolution or something like that. Then if I CTRL-ALT-DEL and end GAME.exe the desktop is left all bright and over-gamma'd out. I gotta reboot. WTF. I have 40 characters I gotta update before they get deleted...
__________________
`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves...

Need GOOD SS pins to clean your brass? Try the new and improved model...


Author of the NY Times Best Selling book: How to Cheat and Win Like a Pro at Solitaire
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2013, 1:35 PM
rplusplus's Avatar
rplusplus rplusplus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Baghdad West
Posts: 2,186
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Re Run the Video Optimizer. Either your video card or direct X might have updated since you last played.
__________________
US Navy Retired 1987-2007
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2013, 1:40 PM
stilly's Avatar
stilly stilly is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,369
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rplusplus View Post
Re Run the Video Optimizer. Either your video card or direct X might have updated since you last played.
Even with XP pro? I figured that maybe my video card was starting to fail but I will have a look at that. Video optimizer huh. OKay thanks.

Did not work. I could not find any video optimizer but I opened a battlenet session and then changed res to 640x480 and then back to 800x600 and that was about all that I could do.

Remember, I did say Diablo II.

After about 6 minutes it locked up again. Played FINE up till then...

Had to reboot to fix the gamma. Nothing has changed in my system that I am aware of. I did just unload about 19 programs but that was after the lockups had started to occur. I will update my drivers for the graphics card but that should not be an issue.

Updated drivers to version 10.x for ATI did not fix it. Played again for a few minutes then froze, then RESET itself and the graphics looked like crap till I ALT tabbed out and back in, at which point it locked the screen again and reset the VPU or whatever. freaking ATI/AMD... Looks like I need to switch to Nvidia for my master system as well...
__________________
`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves...

Need GOOD SS pins to clean your brass? Try the new and improved model...


Author of the NY Times Best Selling book: How to Cheat and Win Like a Pro at Solitaire

Last edited by stilly; 05-01-2013 at 3:56 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2013, 10:37 PM
blazeaglory's Avatar
blazeaglory blazeaglory is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,313
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

Did you fix it?
__________________
A note to the NSA or anyone gathering information on me, this disclaimer is for you..."Everything I type on this website Is purely fictional and for entertainment purposes only. None of it is true."

Also, sometimes I type in CAPS to emphasize a POINT. Please dont interpret that as YELLING. Sorry if I HURT any fuzzy little bunny's FEELINGS out there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2013, 10:39 PM
Gutz's Avatar
Gutz Gutz is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Home is where I make it.
Posts: 4,180
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

ATI BLOWS!!!! nVidia is the way to go...
__________________
I like big guns and I cannot lie.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2013, 10:42 PM
blazeaglory's Avatar
blazeaglory blazeaglory is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,313
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

Micro Center has a GTX 650 for $100. Is that a good deal?
__________________
A note to the NSA or anyone gathering information on me, this disclaimer is for you..."Everything I type on this website Is purely fictional and for entertainment purposes only. None of it is true."

Also, sometimes I type in CAPS to emphasize a POINT. Please dont interpret that as YELLING. Sorry if I HURT any fuzzy little bunny's FEELINGS out there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2013, 10:55 PM
Gutz's Avatar
Gutz Gutz is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Home is where I make it.
Posts: 4,180
iTrader: 48 / 100%
Default

I've actually used those in several systems that I have deployed, none have failed.

I'd test your ATI card first and make sure it is bad, if so, then that GTX 650 should be ok.
__________________
I like big guns and I cannot lie.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-02-2013, 1:37 AM
stilly's Avatar
stilly stilly is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,369
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

Everything works fine, it is just playing DII locks the card up.

This is only my master system but I still need to do inventory trades and keep these characters alive. The problem has not been fixed. HOWEVER, I DID just play it for about 30 minutes with no issues. It usually happens in about 5 minutes or so.
I do not think this is over yet. Still, when I get some money in I will grab maybe like a new 210 or something.
__________________
`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves...

Need GOOD SS pins to clean your brass? Try the new and improved model...


Author of the NY Times Best Selling book: How to Cheat and Win Like a Pro at Solitaire
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2013, 4:43 PM
stilly's Avatar
stilly stilly is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,369
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

WOW.

6 times in a ROW and I get this ****...

I am so mad I am going to make it kill itself fully before I get a new card in there.

I believe the issue here IS the graphics card. I was only browsing the web and now all hardware and what not is turned off, screen moves ultra slow etc.




OMFG!

I just gave myself a 2nd degree burn by touching the HS on the graphics card! Yeah, I think this card is DONE. Now I am posting from my game system because this damn master system is JACKED and will not show a screen.
__________________
`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves...

Need GOOD SS pins to clean your brass? Try the new and improved model...


Author of the NY Times Best Selling book: How to Cheat and Win Like a Pro at Solitaire

Last edited by stilly; 05-13-2013 at 4:53 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2013, 5:09 PM
Peter.Steele's Avatar
Peter.Steele Peter.Steele is offline
Calguns Addict
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: .
Posts: 7,367
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

Did somebody say ... MASTER SYSTEM!?!?!?!?!?

__________________
NRA Life Member

No posts of mine on Calguns are to be construed as legal advice, which can only be given by a lawyer.

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/signaturepics/sigpic68220_5.gif
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-13-2013, 5:13 PM
adamy's Avatar
adamy adamy is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,837
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

come join us and play Path of Exile
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-13-2013, 5:25 PM
stilly's Avatar
stilly stilly is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,369
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Steele View Post
Did somebody say ... MASTER SYSTEM!?!?!?!?!?

ROTFLMFAO!


My card has a HS with a fan on it apparently, I do not know how that got in there, I must have been not paying attention and put a fanned card in. (that is a nono on business machines).

The fan does NOT move. hehe.

Path of Exile it is, I hope there is a CALGUN party...
__________________
`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves...

Need GOOD SS pins to clean your brass? Try the new and improved model...


Author of the NY Times Best Selling book: How to Cheat and Win Like a Pro at Solitaire
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-13-2013, 6:01 PM
adamy's Avatar
adamy adamy is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,837
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stilly View Post
ROTFLMFAO!


My card has a HS with a fan on it apparently, I do not know how that got in there, I must have been not paying attention and put a fanned card in. (that is a nono on business machines).

The fan does NOT move. hehe.

Path of Exile it is, I hope there is a CALGUN party...
if you start playing Path of Exile I can hook you up with some leet gear
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-13-2013, 6:05 PM
Meety Peety's Avatar
Meety Peety Meety Peety is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,674
iTrader: 49 / 100%
Default

Damn still rocking D2? And with 40 mules no less :P

Yea it does look like the card is done, and as far as the GTX 650 goes, there are better cards available to $100. It ultimately depends on whether or not you play any other games that will require a more powerful card or not. For instance, you can probably pick up a used 560ti from eBay, craigslist, gaming forums etc for around $100-$120 and you will get a lot more card for your money. Remember that the x50 series cards are budget cards and have drastically lower performance ratings. Of course, if all you do is browse websites and D2, a 650 will do just fine and it will give you a new card for $100. Just don't expect it to keep up with newer games should you decide to play one in the future.

Also, since you still play D2, I've got to ask.. is XpLiciT still around? haha
__________________
Contact me via PM if you need help writing a unique opposition statement

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid." - Albert Einstein

“I have a very strict gun control policy: if there’s a gun around, I want to be in control of it.” - Clint Eastwood
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-13-2013, 6:09 PM
paul0660's Avatar
paul0660 paul0660 is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ukiah
Posts: 15,706
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

I thought he said Master Baiter.


Never mind.
__________________
*REMOVE THIS PART BEFORE POSTING*
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-13-2013, 6:36 PM
stilly's Avatar
stilly stilly is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,369
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

I am running a GTX 570 in my game system. The other system only gets non gaming cards. $60 is the most I will spend.

I might have an interview tomorrow in Tustin. I think that might be a good time to stop in at Microcenter if I can not find anything decent in all of the things that I have boxed up in my offices.


1337 G3AR on POX? I am only a level 32 (I think) Shadow. Can I run that kind of stuff? I got several skill gems that I do not care for and some orange items but anyways. I play as COCKCHOP When I play on there from now on I will call out CALGUNS and see if anyone is on. Right now I gotta go elipticize...


BAM! Found a card. I am now sporting a 6800GS and I am grabbing drivers for it. Sadly it has a fan, but maybe when I get a job I can upgrade to a newer card that has no fan... :\
__________________
`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves...

Need GOOD SS pins to clean your brass? Try the new and improved model...


Author of the NY Times Best Selling book: How to Cheat and Win Like a Pro at Solitaire

Last edited by stilly; 05-13-2013 at 8:45 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:14 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.