Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights If it aims your firearm, post about it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2013, 5:41 PM
moger moger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default scoop keeps moving while shooting.

today was my first day i got to shoot my .308... i noticed that after a few rounds..my scope had moved. u can see the marks on the tube where it moved from the rings.. so i tighten the screws on the rings and shot few more rounds.. and again the same thing..

what can i do to fix this problem..im gonna look for a torque wrench n see if i can buy one locally.. if not then order one.. but just in case thats not the problem.. what else can i do to fix this?

i have a scope mounted on a 22lr and the ring came with a liner inside the rings.. kinda like sum tape.. thinking maybe if i do sumtin like this to my rings on the .308 it will fix the problem..

the wrings im using are Burris Tactical 30mm on a vortex viper pst...

any help or suggestions would really appreciate it..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2013, 5:56 PM
PrimaryArms's Avatar
PrimaryArms PrimaryArms is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,606
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Try some electrical tape around the scope then rings over and lock tight.

Or get new rings

Dimitri
__________________
www.primaryarms.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2013, 6:02 PM
HighLander51 HighLander51 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,144
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moger View Post

any help or suggestions would really appreciate it..
You have the wrong sized rings on your 'scoop' I know you meant scope. If you have a calipers, measure the inside diameter of the rings and the outside diameter of the scope tube. There should be about 0.003" difference.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2013, 6:57 PM
Bobby Hated's Avatar
Bobby Hated Bobby Hated is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,542
iTrader: 161 / 100%
Default

what they said

get a new set of rings and pay more for them
__________________
USPSA IPSC X3 NRG PRG LDF SWPL

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2013, 7:28 PM
Short Action Precision's Avatar
Short Action Precision Short Action Precision is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Redondo Beach
Posts: 275
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Well before you start dumping money at this I would check with a torque wrench to see how tight you have them. Burris Tactical rings are not bad rings. You might have gotten a junk pair but for the most part they are decent quality rings.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2013, 8:28 PM
moger moger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HighLander51 View Post
You have the wrong sized rings on your 'scoop' I know you meant scope. If you have a calipers, measure the inside diameter of the rings and the outside diameter of the scope tube. There should be about 0.003" difference.
the tube size of the scope is 30mm and the rings i got are 30 mm..so i dont think i got the wrong size.. but i'm new to this so i wouldnt know
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2013, 8:29 PM
moger moger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrimaryArms View Post
Try some electrical tape around the scope then rings over and lock tight.

Or get new rings

Dimitri
i just bought sum lock tight and sum friction tape..so i;m hoping this will fix the problem..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2013, 11:19 PM
squeeze squeeze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 260
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

My new Burris tactical rings rings say to torque them to 20 INCH-POUNDS. Get a torque wrench (Harbor Freight is having a $19.99 sale on them) and tighten them to specs. PLease note that it is in inch-pounds NOT foot-pounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:52 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.