Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2013, 1:16 AM
Falstaff's Avatar
Falstaff Falstaff is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,188
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default Power cord for 220 v PC power supply?

What NEMA cord should I use for a 1000w 120/240 volt PC power supply? I have 10/3 copper terminated to the older 3 prong (clothes dryer type) plug on a 30 amp breaker.

Or, if I have to change the receptacle, which NEMA type is required for 220 with a 10/3 wire? I would like to meet current code without running new cable...

Electrician in the house?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2013, 8:13 PM
ibanezfoo's Avatar
ibanezfoo ibanezfoo is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bastrop County, TX
Posts: 7,012
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

The plugs we use on our batteries at the datacenter are NEMA L6-30 but I dont know if that will work for normal PCs... The PDUs are IEC C19
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2013, 10:38 PM
Obviously a Plant's Avatar
Obviously a Plant Obviously a Plant is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 778
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Plug types:


1000-watts @ 220-volts is about 4.5 amps
16/2 wire would work if you needed it...
for a 30-amp breaker and 10 gauge wire, use plug 10-20p or 10-30p
I recommend the former because it is smaller and less expensive and will take 4400-watts with a 20-amp breaker (2 120-volt breakers with a pin through both switches is a $7.00 220-volt breaker). Only use this plug if you are willing to change the breaker.
the latter plug is something you might see on a dryer, you can often buy a cord/plug combo which may be more simple to wire if you don't want to mess with the breaker.

Last edited by Obviously a Plant; 01-27-2013 at 10:40 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2013, 12:43 PM
Falstaff's Avatar
Falstaff Falstaff is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,188
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Thanks, I think I need to buy another breaker because I used the original breaker for the bonus room for another circuit I ran to the garage later. (I ran 220 all over the place when I built my house!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:19 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.