Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2012, 9:14 PM
yellowsulphur's Avatar
yellowsulphur yellowsulphur is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cloud City
Posts: 1,394
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default Sprint 4G LTE

Bought a new Android from Sprint to replace the one I destroyed and was pleasantly surprised by this. I'd be nice if they could deploy this nationwide.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2012, 10:32 PM
Bobby Ricigliano's Avatar
Bobby Ricigliano Bobby Ricigliano is offline
Mit Gott und Mauser
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The People's Glorious Republik of Southern Kalifornistan
Posts: 13,166
iTrader: 293 / 100%
Default

The Sprint 'all you can eat' data plan is tempting, but I am not confident that it will work in enough places to be worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2012, 6:00 AM
FreedomIsNotFree's Avatar
FreedomIsNotFree FreedomIsNotFree is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Bay
Posts: 3,637
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Its going to take them a couple years to catch up to Verzion, but they will eventually have LTE rolled out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2012, 6:06 AM
MXRider MXRider is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby Ricigliano View Post
The Sprint 'all you can eat' data plan is tempting, but I am not confident that it will work in enough places to be worth it.
I recently drove cross country, and there was almost nowhere I didn't at least have service. They also have 4g where I'm at now, and it is lightning fast. I currently have the EVO 4G, but it's on it's last leg and I will be getting the GS3 next week and sticking with Sprint. My bill is $91 a month with the insurance policy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2012, 2:38 PM
nssurge nssurge is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 704
iTrader: 29 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowsulphur View Post
Bought a new Android from Sprint to replace the one I destroyed and was pleasantly surprised by this. I'd be nice if they could deploy this nationwide.

Still patchy in some major markets, I don't get it at home. Can't beat the free domestic roaming for voice, text and data though. Plus the price is right, I'm on the lowest minute plan and it's great because I don't call landlines very frequently anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2012, 4:12 PM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is offline
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 4,678
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Here in the IE all they have is 3G, but I hear they are rolling out 4G in the next 3 months or so. Currently the 3G is painfully slow and almost not even worth using. Frankly, my old 56K dialup was faster than the sprint 3G here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2012, 4:34 PM
Steve G Steve G is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,539
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaHoTex View Post
Here in the IE all they have is 3G, but I hear they are rolling out 4G in the next 3 months or so. Currently the 3G is painfully slow and almost not even worth using. Frankly, my old 56K dialup was faster than the sprint 3G here.
That's the problem in lots of places otherwise no brainer to switch.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-17-2012, 5:00 PM
babe's Avatar
babe babe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sunny San Diego
Posts: 606
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby Ricigliano View Post
The Sprint 'all you can eat' data plan is tempting, but I am not confident that it will work in enough places to be worth it.
That's what i'm worried about too. Anyone know how well it works in San Diego?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-17-2012, 7:18 PM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is offline
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 4,678
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babe View Post
That's what i'm worried about too. Anyone know how well it works in San Diego?
Only 3G...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-17-2012, 7:55 PM
Brianguy's Avatar
Brianguy Brianguy is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,839
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

no LTE in OC that i've found
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-17-2012, 8:57 PM
Joe Joe is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sac
Posts: 5,722
iTrader: 32 / 100%
Default

Sprint 3g is pretty bad. I think the fastest I got in the bay area was like 1.5mb download.

I recently changed to tmobile and noticed a huge signal improvement everywhere in the east bay. Far better coverage. Plus I get LTE speeds on tmobile even though my phone is only hspa+. Did a speedtest a few days ago and got 19.13mb download/2.51 upload. It normally hovers around 15-19mbps. Who needs LTE with speeds like that
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-17-2012, 9:10 PM
yellowsulphur's Avatar
yellowsulphur yellowsulphur is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cloud City
Posts: 1,394
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I agree with you guys that the 3G speeds aren't the greatest. I live about a mile from the San Francisco border and consider LTE to be more like big WiFi hot spot instead of continuous coverage. Since Sprint has free data roaming it's possible I could be using Verizon's towers.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-18-2012, 6:56 AM
den888's Avatar
den888 den888 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 10,260
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Yes, it's pretty fast!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-18-2012, 9:20 AM
Loner Loner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 684
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

Good to hear. I'm currently still on a grandfathered Verizon 4G LTE plan, but if Sprint can get it together, it could pressure VZ to compete on their plans again.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-01-2012, 11:50 AM
AlliedArmory's Avatar
AlliedArmory AlliedArmory is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SGV, CA
Posts: 10,108
iTrader: 309 / 100%
Default

4G LTE is pretty good IF you can get signal. I don't get it at all at my house, but at work I get a clean 12mb down.
__________________
http://alliedarmory.com/
California Business - No Credit Card Fees - $6.95 Flat Rate Shipping on Any Order



http://www.alliedbrassprocessing.com/
Professional Brass Processing Service of your 223/5.56, 300 AAC Blackout and 9MM brass at an affordable price
PM me about local dropoff and pickups
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-08-2012, 1:53 PM
Mr10's Avatar
Mr10 Mr10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 364
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Default

Nothing in sf, daly city, Dublin as of yet... I hope it comes soon.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-08-2012, 2:51 PM
yellowsulphur's Avatar
yellowsulphur yellowsulphur is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cloud City
Posts: 1,394
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I've picked up an LTE signal in sf, Daly City, and San Bruno although the service isn't wide spread enough to be relied on.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-08-2012, 3:04 PM
Tjfearl's Avatar
Tjfearl Tjfearl is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 1,109
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowsulphur View Post
I've picked up an LTE signal in sf, Daly City, and San Bruno although the service isn't wide spread enough to be relied on.
Does it run on standard 4G when LTE is not available? I am thinking about switching from Verizon to Sprint when I get back from Afghanistan. I am sick of verizon's terrible prices.
__________________
HM2(FMF) Earl

NRA Life Member...Are you?!?!

Can't wait to be DEEP SEA!!!

"The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants. It is it's natural manure." Thomas Jefferson 1787

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-08-2012, 8:54 PM
yellowsulphur's Avatar
yellowsulphur yellowsulphur is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cloud City
Posts: 1,394
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I'm not sure. My phone only has options for CDMA/LTE. Here is a test I ran from my house that I know is covered by WiMax. The results look like they could be first gen 4G.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-08-2012, 11:44 PM
JERK's Avatar
JERK JERK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Corona
Posts: 238
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

Just recently sold my Verizon unlimited data plans and switched to T-Mobile. Lost a little download speed, but also lost about $60 off my bill.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-09-2012, 9:41 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is offline
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 4,678
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Just yesterday I dumped my Sprint and switched to Verizon 4G. Hope it is better service than my old Sprint device. I am now getting 5M up and dn with VZ. Beats my Sprint 3k I was lucky to get. Happy so far!

Last edited by MaHoTex; 12-10-2012 at 1:40 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-10-2012, 8:22 PM
FailedAngrMgmt's Avatar
FailedAngrMgmt FailedAngrMgmt is offline
2A Supporting Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 325
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaHoTex View Post
Just yesterday I dumped my Sprint and switched to Verizon 4G. Hope it is better service than my old Sprint device. I am now getting 5M up and dn with VZ. Beats my Sprint 3k I was lucky to get. Happy so far!
I've been thinking hard about doing the exact same thing, how's it working out so far? Is it worth paying and ETF and buying new phones? I get delayed text messages, takes up to 30 sec before my placed call starts ringing, no data at work.
__________________
Time to nut up, or shut up.
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
NRA Benefactor Life/SAF Life/CPRA Member/CCRKBA Member/GOA Member/CGF Sponsor
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-10-2012, 8:27 PM
InFamous20's Avatar
InFamous20 InFamous20 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,992
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Waiting for LTE in LA
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-11-2012, 8:55 AM
MaHoTex's Avatar
MaHoTex MaHoTex is offline
You're a daisy if you do!
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Isola di Linosa
Posts: 4,678
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FailedAngrMgmt View Post
I've been thinking hard about doing the exact same thing, how's it working out so far? Is it worth paying and ETF and buying new phones? I get delayed text messages, takes up to 30 sec before my placed call starts ringing, no data at work.
Very pleased so far. I struggled with the Sprint data rates for two years since I was stuck in the contract. With the Verizon 4G I am hitting 5M easily with only 2 bars, and at work I have 4 bars, have not done a speed test yet at work, but it seems to be pretty darn good.

I am concerned about hitting my data cap at 5G, but if that happens, I will just up my data limit to 10G and move on with my life.

I am not using a phone, I use the JetPack.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-17-2012, 2:03 PM
Shenaniguns Shenaniguns is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Back in California?
Posts: 6,035
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default

I wanted to see what some Calgunners were getting speed wise, I recently left Sprint for AT&T and went from 600kbps DL's with Sprint at home to 30-60mbs on AT&T's LTE

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-17-2012, 2:17 PM
yellowsulphur's Avatar
yellowsulphur yellowsulphur is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cloud City
Posts: 1,394
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

^ That's ludicrous speed
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-17-2012, 2:27 PM
Shenaniguns Shenaniguns is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Back in California?
Posts: 6,035
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowsulphur View Post
^ That's ludicrous speed

I know and I've hit over 60 a few different times at home on different dates. The amount of data speedtest uses makes me test only occasionally haha.

Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-25-2012, 11:45 AM
spectr17's Avatar
spectr17 spectr17 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kali-fornya via Mizzurah
Posts: 1,896
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

It all depends on where you're standing. 3G sucks here in Redlands on Sprint but in certain places in SoCal and MO I can get signal when my buddies with AT&T or Verizon can't. In other spots, they can get a decent signal I can't. Crap shoot really.

I do get 4G around Pomona and it smokes.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-25-2012, 12:34 PM
Ls1FALimpala's Avatar
Ls1FALimpala Ls1FALimpala is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 909
Posts: 679
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

I only seen lte once since I had sprint. I had it for about two months now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-25-2012, 2:15 PM
West coast's Avatar
West coast West coast is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hawthorne, Ca
Posts: 2,166
iTrader: 24 / 100%
Default

Been a long time customer from Sprint can't wait for the 4G lite in southern Cali.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 12-25-2012, 2:33 PM
ThisUserName ThisUserName is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

By the middle of 2013 Sprint will have fully decommissioned their Nextel System, and will begin using many of those towers and the then-available frequencies for their LTE system. Additionally, the Softbank deal should go through in 2013, so that should make improvement funds far more available.

I wouldn't expect them to be approaching the sheer size of VZW or AT&T in the next couple of years. Of course once they get big enough, they'll certainly remove the unlimited data for something that isn't in the customer's best interest (imo).
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12-26-2012, 2:40 AM
Davigluns Davigluns is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Still blotchy in some significant marketplaces, I don't get it at home. Can't defeat the no cost household wandering for speech, written text and information though. Plus the cost is right, I'm on the smallest moment strategy and it's great because I don't contact land lines very regularly any longer. . . . . . .



Small Business Marketing Solutions
__________________
Today is the tomorrow you worried about yesterday.. for tomorrow never comes.. live today!!!

Last edited by Davigluns; 12-30-2013 at 9:59 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-27-2012, 1:24 AM
FailedAngrMgmt's Avatar
FailedAngrMgmt FailedAngrMgmt is offline
2A Supporting Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 325
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davigluns View Post
Still blotchy in some significant marketplaces, I don't get it at home. Can't defeat the no cost household wandering for speech, written text and information though. Plus the cost is right, I'm on the smallest moment strategy and it's great because I don't contact land lines very regularly any longer. . . . . . .
wut?

I dropped Sprint about half a month ago. I'm amazed at how good Verizon LTE works on my iPhone. I don't know why I didn't switch earlier. It is a little more expensive, but you definitely get what you pay for.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Time to nut up, or shut up.
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
NRA Benefactor Life/SAF Life/CPRA Member/CCRKBA Member/GOA Member/CGF Sponsor
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-27-2012, 7:47 AM
ibanezfoo's Avatar
ibanezfoo ibanezfoo is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bastrop County, TX
Posts: 7,016
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Sprint 4G sucks. I have it for my personal phone and my work phone is AT&T. AT&T is the worst company to deal with on earth but at least they have decent coverage. When I drove to Texas I was glad I took my AT&T phone because the Sprint phone rarely worked and only in major cities (Phoenix, Tucson, El Paso, etc). AT&T seemed to work even out in the desert, though not 100% of the time obviously.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-30-2012, 9:13 PM
yellowsulphur's Avatar
yellowsulphur yellowsulphur is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cloud City
Posts: 1,394
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezfoo View Post
Sprint 4G sucks. I have it for my personal phone and my work phone is AT&T. AT&T is the worst company to deal with on earth but at least they have decent coverage. When I drove to Texas I was glad I took my AT&T phone because the Sprint phone rarely worked and only in major cities (Phoenix, Tucson, El Paso, etc). AT&T seemed to work even out in the desert, though not 100% of the time obviously.
Did you have roaming enabled? I did a Texas road trip back in 2011 from San Francisco to Corpus Christi and lost my Pandora Radio stream for a 40 mile stretch leading into Flagstaff. I took the I-40 into Dallas and then south to Corpus. From the cities you posted it sounds like you took the I-10? I just ask because I was data roaming quite a bit, but my bill stayed the same. This was of course all 3G.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-30-2012, 11:41 PM
Bobby Ricigliano's Avatar
Bobby Ricigliano Bobby Ricigliano is offline
Mit Gott und Mauser
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The People's Glorious Republik of Southern Kalifornistan
Posts: 13,166
iTrader: 293 / 100%
Default

I bought 2 new Samsung Galaxy S3's on Black Friday and was able to keep my unlimited data plans on both of them, significantly faster now with 4G LTE as opposed to 3G on my old ones.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01-12-2013, 10:08 AM
Rouge Recon's Avatar
Rouge Recon Rouge Recon is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 864
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Sprint is really fighting hard to keep up with the competition. With all the money issues, the nextel and clearwire purchases, and building a nationwide LTE network, I think their doing the best job they can given their situation. They will only improve at this point.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:56 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.