Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2013, 2:37 AM
Yerman's Avatar
Yerman Yerman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 1,091
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default Vibra-Prime auto primer tube filler

Anybody have one of these? Looks like it was discontinued but recently brought back to life and in stock at Midway.

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/890...er-tube-filler


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2013, 5:20 AM
anyracoon anyracoon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: S.E. of Soledad
Posts: 2,475
iTrader: 248 / 100%
Default

I bought one when they first came out way back when. It is a must if you have a progressive press. I don't use the adapter, but just hold the primer tool in. Love it!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2013, 8:55 AM
ChrisGarrett's Avatar
ChrisGarrett ChrisGarrett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 197
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Ehhhh, after 18+ years, I'm pretty fast with my Dillon tubes and $3 Lee flip tray.

I don't want to be pulling off fittings and putting them back on, after filling a tube.

Good luck with that.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2013, 12:36 PM
Bill Steele Bill Steele is online now
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 4,689
iTrader: 55 / 100%
Default

I used to think it took a lot of time loading pickup tubes. Until one day I timed it and it averaged about 1 minute 20 seconds per tube (100 primers). So for 500 rounds (a typical run for me), it takes about 7 minutes to load all five tubes.

The Vibra-prime appears to cut that time by more than half. Call it 4 minutes saved per loading run of 75 minutes. May be worth it if you are still working for a living.
__________________
When asked what qualities he most valued in his generals, Napoleon said, "give me lucky ones."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2013, 1:05 PM
drkphibr drkphibr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,571
iTrader: 64 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yerman View Post
Anybody have one of these? Looks like it was discontinued but recently brought back to life and in stock at Midway.
Got the new one about 2 weeks ago (have been waiting/watching for it for a while) as using a pick up tube for an AP so just so...wrong (especially considering loading 100 primers in a Lee Safety prime takes seconds).

Vibra prime works as described...but you have to "adjust" to it. You'll have to figure out your best angle/tilt and shake as it vibrates primers into the tubes. I took some 1000 grit sand paper and honed the S/L drops on the tray and this thing rocks (as compared to pick up tubes). You'll find a groove after using it a few times and NEVER go back to pick up tubes. I go from Vibra prime to LnL primer tube (mounted on press) directly - no need to use the coupler. Exact same process as the pick up tubes to the primer tube on the press. Worth every penny IMO. Well made and "enhanced" over the original version from what others are saying. Perfect solution to AP primers hassles and great addition to the bench tools.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2013, 12:56 AM
chim-chim7's Avatar
chim-chim7 chim-chim7 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lakeside, CA
Posts: 1,845
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Default

People were buying those for $150 on Fleabay after they were discontinued. Stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2013, 1:12 AM
stilly's Avatar
stilly stilly is online now
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,279
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

I have a hard enough time turning on the vibrator I have duct-taped to the side of my powder measure let alone vibrating my primers. oh HELL no...

Just my luck static electricity will hit me somehow.
__________________
`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves...

Need GOOD SS pins to clean your brass? Try the new and improved model...


Author of the NY Times Best Selling book: How to Cheat and Win Like a Pro at Solitaire
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2013, 4:05 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,757
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

I have been kicking the idea around. Picking up primers in the tube is the thing that slows down my reloading the most.

~$50 for hours saved a year, WORTH IT.

Do they work with Dillon pick-up tubes?
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2013, 4:57 AM
anyracoon anyracoon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: S.E. of Soledad
Posts: 2,475
iTrader: 248 / 100%
Default

I use the Dillon tubes with out the adapter that come with the Vibra-Prime. Just put the Dillon Tube up into the opening and pull the trigger.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:25 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.