Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > THE CALGUNS COMMUNITY > CGSSA Northern California Chapters
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 02-04-2013, 4:40 PM

Default Buying ammo online to San Francisco - what's the deal?

I'm new to the city (came here for work-related matters) and didn't realize that most (all?) online ammo retailers have a no-ship policy to SF due to (I think) city ordinance.

My question is -- is there a workaround? What do y'all end up doing? Only in-person purchases? Would it be above board to hypothetically have someone else not in SF purchase it? Surely there aren't regs around straw man ammo purchases (though with the SF lunacy in general I wouldn't be surprised.)

I'd hate to place an order only to have it confiscated (best case) or end up with some kind of fine or more.

Thanks.
Old 02-04-2013, 4:42 PM
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor

Use the local name for the area you live. Down here in Los Angeles we have a lot of small towns that were incorporated into Los Angeles City. Using the old name for area instead of San Francisco might work.
Old 02-10-2013, 1:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by doran4x View Post
Using the old name for area instead of San Francisco might work.
It hasn't been called "Yerba Buena" since 1846
Old 02-04-2013, 4:46 PM

Interesting. I thought about that but so far seems like they're just checking my zip code.
Old 02-09-2013, 7:51 AM
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktb View Post
Interesting. I thought about that but so far seems like they're just checking my zip code.
Its all zip code. have it sent to a friend/relative outside a SF zip
You can send it to me if you like
Old 02-05-2013, 11:53 AM