View Single Post
  #276  
Old 03-17-2014, 8:08 AM
wheels's Avatar
wheels wheels is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,293
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Freebie - might be an interesting read.

The Seasons on Henry's Farm: A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm

4.9 out of 5 stars

Quote:
Henry's Farm is in central Illinois, some of the richest farming land in the world. There, Henry Brockman and his family five generations of farmers, including sister Terra farm in a way that produces healthy, nutritious food without despoiling the land. Terra Brockman tells their story in the form of a yearlong diary/memoir with recipes that takes readers through each season of life on the farm. Studded with vignettes, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm's vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E. B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber. The book opens a window into what sustainable farming really entails and why it is vital and relevant to everyone who eats. Though rooted in the rolling oak-hickory hills and fertile fields and flood plains of the Mackinaw River Valley, the book ranges widely, incorporating literary, scientific, and culinary reflections occasioned by the week-by-week events of farm life.
__________________
Quote:
The society that separates its scholars from its warriors, will have its thinking done by cowards and its fighting done by fools. Thucydides
Reply With Quote