Calguns.net

Calguns.net (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   Gunsmithing & How To (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=114)
-   -   My CNC has shipped! (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=696499)

mud99 02-04-2013 8:07 PM

My CNC has shipped!
 
4 Attachment(s)
Hey guys, check out my new toy! Currently residing in customs somewhere between Toronto and here...

Can't wait to get it set up, I have a few fun projects in mind...

It's been a long road, I ordered it last April!!!


http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/a...1&d=1360040746
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/a...1&d=1360040751
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/a...1&d=1360040756
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/a...1&d=1360040652

chillincody 02-04-2013 8:13 PM

so whens the BP ? :) lol jk

congrats on the new toy man

Yemff 02-04-2013 8:16 PM

I want, Ive got a bunch of 3d models and nothing to build them with.

DENCO 02-04-2013 8:17 PM

Very cool you will have a blast.

I would love to have that in my shop.

What programing software will you be useing?


Lots of electronis with that mill -two cabinets worth!!



Have fun makin chips!!!

mud99 02-04-2013 8:19 PM

Hehe, it's going to be a long road getting it working...more to it than just turning it on and pushing the green button...

kcstott 02-04-2013 8:22 PM

Thats bad arse!!!

mud99 02-04-2013 8:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DENCO (Post 10428718)
Very cool you will have a blast.

I would love to have that in my shop.

What programing software will you be useing?


Lots of electronis with that mill -two cabinets worth!!



Have fun makin chips!!!

Haven't figured out the CAM side of things yet, but I build most stuff in solidworks. Any recommendation on CAM software?

I'm probably going to use Mach or LinuxCNC on an Atom PC to drive the machine

mud99 02-04-2013 8:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kcstott (Post 10428774)
Thats bad arse!!!

Yes, it was either buy a new CNC or buy a newer truck...

I think I chose the right option, although I may have to barter rides to work for machining time...lets see how long I can keep my Toyota running for...

MadRiverArms 02-04-2013 9:06 PM

What's a ball park cost on one of those?

mud99 02-04-2013 9:14 PM

About $7.5k after shipping including the stand.

I got it as a preorder so it was a bit cheaper.

It's a stepper machine but with a servo spindle, on paper it seems a bit better than the small Tormach, which was the other machine I was looking at.

DENCO 02-04-2013 9:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mud99 (Post 10428794)
Haven't figured out the CAM side of things yet, but I build most stuff in solidworks. Any recommendation on CAM software?

I'm probably going to use Mach or LinuxCNC on an Atom PC to drive the machine

I used Pro Engineer for years. LOL it takes years to learn it. Very powerful but steep curve getting down. I don't recommend it to start.
We also had "Conversational Programing" which was easy and fun but a little slow.

There is probably 100's out there is my guess.

With the correct Post Proceser you can pretty much talk to the machine with most software..

Or learn to use the G code in your system.

I guess I cant really offer much- the company I worked for supplied Pro E and that's what I had to learn. Not much experiance with others.

All our machines water jets as well- we used a PP to communicate..

Ya may want to make some containment around the spindle and table cuz fluid will be flying!! Maybe it has some already..

You will be making some cool parts with it thats for sure. And they should all look the same LOL!!

I retired a few years ago and I only have manual machines in my own shop. Old School crankin handles, but it works.. One off is cool but if ya have to make two -Its a PAIN!

armygunsmith 02-04-2013 9:47 PM

Very nice! Keep us up to date on your projects.

big103 02-04-2013 9:56 PM

Man that`s a fun new tool. You getting it for business or pleasure.

50BMGBOB 02-04-2013 10:40 PM

Looks great, beats my X3 import. But I have some learning to do before I am ready for that.

baih777 02-04-2013 11:21 PM

Oh boy.
Another source for billet 80% lowers.

madjack956 02-04-2013 11:39 PM

Congratulations! Im not jealous..Im not jealous.. Im not jealous..

tozan 02-05-2013 12:00 AM

I use Mastercam you can do 3D design and CAM programing with one product. I am self taught it took me 24 hours to figure out the code load it into the CNC and was cutting my first part the following day.

ArmedCMT 02-05-2013 12:08 AM

Congrats on the new toy!! For now only in my dreams.
Ive heard good things about mastercam but ive never personally used it. I used to have a copy of solidworks but that was lost years ago. Every once in a great while ill thumb through my hass handbooks but nowadays im not even recognizing it:confused:

ExtremeX 02-05-2013 12:10 AM

That’s pretty awesome…. I always wanted one, or wish I had easy access to something like that.

SPUTTER 02-05-2013 1:50 AM

Does that machine require 3 phase?

kcstott 02-05-2013 5:21 AM

As for modeling soft ware I use Alibre design. It seams to be a knock off of solid work but different in a lot of areas. Cheep to buy, easy to learn, and as powerful as you could ask for for a home shop.

Pro E?? I haven't used that in years and yes it's a pain to learn very complex and powerful program requires a very graphics capable computer too. Last i checked it was $25K a seat probably double that now.

Master cam and Alibre will do everything you need. Solid work would be better though but the pricing is very expensive for a home shop.

vmwerks 02-05-2013 7:00 AM

I'm not a machinist but I'm interested in an inexpensive mill. I looked up novakon and got this....

http://www.novakoncnc.com/

It's a website full of horror stories.. I hope it's just sour grapes as I saw the price and got excited as I can afford that mill....

mud99 02-05-2013 7:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SPUTTER (Post 10430843)
Does that machine require 3 phase?

No.

From what I understand it is a 3 phase motor with a VFD, which allows it to run on single phase 220v and function as a servo drive.

Same system I have on my manual lathe. Really quiet and smooth with lots of low speed torque, variable speed, and no brushes to burn out.

mud99 02-05-2013 7:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vmwerks (Post 10431510)
I'm not a machinist but I'm interested in an inexpensive mill. I looked up novakon and got this....

http://www.novakoncnc.com/

It's a website full of horror stories.. I hope it's just sour grapes as I saw the price and got excited as I can afford that mill....

As far as I can tell, they have one very angry customer, who was using the product in production and getting upset at downtime.

At the end of the day, this is a hobbyist/garage grade cnc, and it was either this, a Tormach, or a Syil machine.

I've heard plenty of negative things about Tormach, and nothing good about Syil. At least Novakon stays active on the forums and admits when they have issues.

bollero 02-05-2013 12:24 PM

can you use machine for high production milling? 5000+ units?

kcstott 02-05-2013 12:57 PM

You can use any machine for high production. It's just cycle time that kills you.

mud99 02-05-2013 1:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bollero (Post 10434354)
can you use machine for high production milling? 5000+ units?

You can run the machine constantly, but at the end of the day it is still a stepper based machine.

IMO, A servo machine would be far more suited to that.

kcstott 02-05-2013 4:12 PM

Which is one reason I don't care for stepper machines. Too much potential for error and no feedback. Drive just send pulses and if the motor is stalled the control doesn't know.
I'm going to be my typical anal retentive self now and I'm referring to your use of the term servo motor when talking about the spindle. I know you mean vari speed in such an application but the proper term is "Vector driven" "Vector" referring to the torque curve used to generate the torque at all spindle speeds. tomAto tOmatO it all come out even in the end.

VFD's are a cool little gizmo's, plug in 220 single phase and get 220 three phase out at a slightly reduced amp capacity.

One of these days i'll get a full CNC. House first then toys opps I mean tools

I know it's 5X what you paid for this machine but a Haas toolroom mill is a very nice entry level industrial machine. And used they go for half of retail so about double what you paid for this. Oh the dreams>>>>>>

mud99 02-05-2013 6:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kcstott (Post 10436575)
Which is one reason I don't care for stepper machines. Too much potential for error and no feedback. Drive just send pulses and if the motor is stalled the control doesn't know.
I'm going to be my typical anal retentive self now and I'm referring to your use of the term servo motor when talking about the spindle. I know you mean vari speed in such an application but the proper term is "Vector driven" "Vector" referring to the torque curve used to generate the torque at all spindle speeds. tomAto tOmatO it all come out even in the end.

VFD's are a cool little gizmo's, plug in 220 single phase and get 220 three phase out at a slightly reduced amp capacity.

One of these days i'll get a full CNC. House first then toys opps I mean tools

I know it's 5X what you paid for this machine but a Haas toolroom mill is a very nice entry level industrial machine. And used they go for half of retail so about double what you paid for this. Oh the dreams>>>>>>

Not correct, it is a vector drive with servo encoder for feedback...so servo is arguably the proper term....i think...

A Haas toolroom mill? 3000 lbs? How the hell would I get it up the steep hill into my garage? I'm already pushing it with a 1000 lb machine! Luckily I have lots of people right now who owe me favors...

Anyway, I found with my last mill that I don't need much of a work envelope for what I do so I think this will be fine. If it makes chips, i'll be happy.

kcstott 02-05-2013 6:48 PM

Just read the specs on the machine yep servo spindle for rigid tapping with encoder feedback
As for weight yeah real machines are heavy and require some real equipment to move. Not saying what you have isn't real but it is about half of a full size mill, Still heavy though. I have worked with some machinery movers her in san diego that do work for us very inexpensively I could have my entire garage moved across town for $1500 and that's about 12,000 pound of machinery and tools

Cahooting 02-05-2013 8:42 PM

Cool machine.

vmwerks 02-05-2013 10:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mud99 (Post 10431554)
As far as I can tell, they have one very angry customer, who was using the product in production and getting upset at downtime.

At the end of the day, this is a hobbyist/garage grade cnc, and it was either this, a Tormach, or a Syil machine.

I've heard plenty of negative things about Tormach, and nothing good about Syil. At least Novakon stays active on the forums and admits when they have issues.

You would recommend this to a person who's a beginner? I've run a Bridgeport but on nothing really complicated. I would think the tooling would be a large cost too...

mud99 02-05-2013 11:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vmwerks (Post 10440486)
You would recommend this to a person who's a beginner? I've run a Bridgeport but on nothing really complicated. I would think the tooling would be a large cost too...

I can't recommend it yet, as I haven't received it yet.

Tooling is a huge cost, I probably have 3k in tooling from my last mill. Biggest mistake I made was buying sets of end mills and collets. You really only need a few collets in specific sizes, and a couple of end mills of good quality.

I don't know exactly what you mean by "beginner" - if you are an absolute beginner to metalworking I would recommend you buy a dremel, jigsaw, angle grinder, welder, bandsaw, lathe and then a mill in that order.

vmwerks 02-06-2013 12:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mud99 (Post 10440918)
I can't recommend it yet, as I haven't received it yet.

Tooling is a huge cost, I probably have 3k in tooling from my last mill. Biggest mistake I made was buying sets of end mills and collets. You really only need a few collets in specific sizes, and a couple of end mills of good quality.

I don't know exactly what you mean by "beginner" - if you are an absolute beginner to metalworking I would recommend you buy a dremel, jigsaw, angle grinder, welder, bandsaw, lathe and then a mill in that order.

Not that new... I've got a race fabrication shop, mostly cut bend and weld sort of stuff. I already have all of the above.

kcstott 02-06-2013 5:22 AM

You could get a mill and a lathe being green to metal work. You just need some hands on instruction more for safety then anything else.
Then you could get by with little tid bits of help for setups.

I disagree with the tooling comment.
I don't recommend sets of endmills but I do recommend multiples of same size so you have a spare when they go dull and they will if you are using your machine.
so like three or four each of 1/8, 1/4, 5/16, 3/8, and maybe two 1/2 to get started in two flute and four.
Basic set of collets like an 8 piece set is fine.

But a word of warning Tooling will be you single largest expense getting a machine up an running. I was fortunate enough to have been allowed to take all my tooling home with me when I retired out of the tool making industry.
If someone brook into my garage and stole one roll away box i'd have to dump $15K to replace the endmills, drills, and reamers alone.

gemoose23 02-06-2013 5:31 AM

looks fantastic.. something new to dream about.

Bunsen 02-06-2013 5:40 AM

Looks good and enjoy it!

mud99 02-06-2013 7:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vmwerks (Post 10441246)
Not that new... I've got a race fabrication shop, mostly cut bend and weld sort of stuff. I already have all of the above.

In that case i'd go with a Haas like kcstott mentioned, since you are on the clock...you can probably finance one.

You will pay back the Haas faster than this machine if you are on the clock.

Actually, scratch that, i'd get a used bridgeport first, they show up on craigslist all the time for $2k

kcstott 02-06-2013 8:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mud99 (Post 10442346)
Actually, scratch that, i'd get a used bridgeport first, they show up on craigslist all the time for $2k

There's one on ebay right now with a retrofitted control for $8K old boss 8 or older I don't know. But it's a bridgeport with ball screws so it would be a very good first machine, and the control alone is worth more then that. If only I had the money and the room
Bridgeport CNC

Someone needs to snatch this up as that is one hell of a good deal.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.