Calguns.net

Calguns.net (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   Rimfire Firearms (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=165)
-   -   First Handgun - Buck Mark Micro Standard URX??? (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=631064)

MotoriousRacing 10-12-2012 2:05 PM

First Handgun - Buck Mark Micro Standard URX???

Per the title, I plan to buy my first handgun. I just mailed off my PFEC application and am reading up on the HSC.

Although I've owned a Ruger 10/22 and a 410 shotgun for a number of years, I'm not really a gun enthusiast, I'm just a guy that is prepping for TEOTWAWKI and does some occasional plinking and clay busting. I also have a Maverick 88 12 gauge I inherited but have yet to shoot. I am waiting shipment on a 20-inch barrel for the Mav.

I'm liking the Browning Buck Mark Micro Standard URX (22lr). I have a degree in Manufacturing Engineering (but I work as an Environmental Engineer), and I really like that "Every Buck Mark starts out as a solid piece of aircraft-grade 7075 aluminum alloy, and then is CNC machined to exacting tolerances."

I'm wanting a 22lr for the obvious reasons (cheap to use, I got a few dozen rounds already stockpiled, my wife and kids could easily use it, etc.); I may get something of a larger caliber at a later time. In fact, after the 22lr handgun, I plan to get a California compliant AR-15 type rifle, then a larger caliber handgun.

Please reply with your opinions, questions, or otherwise. Thanks much!

snypr 10-12-2012 2:10 PM

Hey MR, welcome to the forum....

Quote:

Originally Posted by MotoriousRacing (Post 9504249)
I got a few dozen rounds already stockpiled, my wife and kids could easily use it, etc.)

Please reply with your opinions, questions, or otherwise. Thanks much!