Calguns.net

Calguns.net (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   Calguns LEOs (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=167)
-   -   Gen 4 or Gen 3 Glock 22? (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=665994)

Seaweed02 12-29-2012 8:05 AM

Gen 4 or Gen 3 Glock 22?

Hello,

I am a State Parole Agent, so I can buy a Gen 4 Glock 22 without going through the SSE stuff. I can buy it through the Blue Label program and get a discount on the price just like any other peace officer. However the store I go through says their supplier does not have any in stock right now and would have to order it. Now with the way things are going, there could be new gun ban laws any time now, so I am worried about that. Coupled with that worry is the fact that I will only be a peace officer for a couple months since I am retiring in March. So I have to make a purchase before then.

Now the guy at the gun store called his source/supplier who said that although he didn't have any Blue Label Gen4s in stock, he did have a Blue Label Gen3 in stock. He had no idea how long it would take to get a Gen4.

Now as a Parole Agent I carry a Smith and Wesson M&P 40 on duty, not a Glock like a lot of Police do. So I figured here would be a good place to ask what people think of the differences between the Gen4 and Gen3 Glock 22. Please share your experiences and help me make a decision as to buying the Gen3 that is in stock, or ordering a Gen4 and hoping it gets here before I retire.

Thanks

Ron-Solo 12-29-2012 8:17 AM

Get an M&P 9c or 40c before you retire. The Glock is ok in my opinion, but the M&P is better.

Just my $0.02 worth.

Retirement is great.

Congrats

FMFdevildoc 12-29-2012 8:26 AM

I purchased a Glock22 gen4 / RTF out of state (Military are also eligible for the blue tag program). Excellent pistol thus far - have fired a variety of JHP & range fodder ammo with zero FTF/FTE.