Calguns.net

Calguns.net (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   Ammo and Reloading (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=89)
-   -   How to dissasemble High Primer Rounds (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=899387)

maxumwake619 02-26-2014 9:28 AM

How to dissasemble High Primer Rounds

Hello all,

I recently started reloading and my first batch had some primers that were not seated all the way and we finished them on a progressive press.

Now that we have ironed out the process and everything is rolling smoothely we would like to disassemble the high primer rounds and reuse the components (minus primer of course).

We bought a hammer puller and in the instructions it says not to use the hammer puller with high primers.

So my question is, how do we safely dissasemble these rounds?

thanks,

Citadelgrad87 02-26-2014 9:36 AM

Interested in the answers you get, I'm a beginner myself.

rcschummers 02-26-2014 9:45 AM

How to dissasemble High Primer Rounds

Edit: my bad, take em apart, you dont want that going off in your face. Kinetic pullers are cheap, i just bought a used one from another calgunner for $6. Ive already made my money back on pulled projectiles.

The hammer says not to use on high primers, most guns say no to reloads. Sometimes you have to be a cowboy LOL.

maxumwake619 02-26-2014 9:49 AM

RCS.

These rounds are already primed, charged and bullet seated. It was not until the process was finished on the lee 1000 that i noticed the primers were seated too high so i cant run them back through the deprime and resize die.

i've heard you can try to push the primer in all the way using the press but with a live round i don't think that is a smart idea.

Kodemonkey 02-26-2014 9:53 AM

EDIT: Nevermind. But I am going to watch this thread.

Why you shouldn't use an inertial puller with a high primer

http://www.shootersforum.com/handloa...r-warning.html

Glockrocks 02-26-2014 9:54 AM

Quote: