Calguns.net

Calguns.net (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   L.A. Chapter (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=290)
-   -   clay shooting in L.A. Area (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=815784)

itsbs2 08-30-2013 7:51 AM

clay shooting in L.A. Area

I know there are a huge number of threads about clay shooting on this forum, but I have searched and have not found an answer to my question yet. I have been shooting clays for a few years, but have always done it very informally in my back yard in colorado. Now that I have relocated to california, I would like to continue to shoot clays. I know that many people say Oak Tree Gun Club is the place in so cal to break clays, but I am a little nervous to go to a place like this that is so formal, when I have not done any formal clay shooting. Like I said, I've just done backyard shooting. I have read a lot of good things about the staff and people at ASR, and am wondering if this would be a good place to hone my skills in a more formal environment before I really get into clay shooting and possibly sporting clays. Any advice here would be appreciated. Usually I would not be worried about being a noob, but when guns are involved, I dont want to go somewhere, and do something out of protocol (I dont mean gun safety, that should be practiced everywhere, but just process and procedure).

Thanks in advance for everyones help, and I apologize in advance if this has been answered before, but I could not find it.

NatesDad 08-30-2013 8:16 AM

Triple B's in South El Monte. The staff behind the counter are friendly and engaging; easy on the eyes as well. ;)

Braddah Jay 08-30-2013 8:38 AM

Angeles Shooting Range has a self loader on the pistol & rifle side. (Left of the office)

matt85 08-30-2013 9:29 AM

I like to go to Prado Olympic Shooting Park in Chino. The guys that work there are friendly and will get you up to speed on normal trap/skeet range etiquette.