Calguns.net

Calguns.net (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   Announcements and Suggestions (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=64)
-   -   New DNS Settings (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=718373)

Kestryll 03-06-2013 9:23 AM

New DNS Settings
 
Calguns.net's hosting company, GeoVario, has merged with Professional Edge hosting, this happened some months ago actually.

Today I received an email advising me of an update to the DNS settings to correctly point them to Professional Edge.

These will take time to propagate, hopefully this will be a smooth transition however if there are any issues this would be the cause.

If you can not reach Calguns.net on a Windows computer try opening a command prompt or DOS window and typing ipconfig /flushdns this should refresh your DNS settings and pnt them correctly.

penguin0123 03-06-2013 10:23 AM

Yeah... it's not working for me. I cannot log in on my home computer, and I tried flushing dns already.

Whenever I type in calguns.net, it just goes URL unresolved...

mievil 03-06-2013 10:49 AM

Also having issues. Unable to connect with iPhone, and have to direct to Google, then search calguns marketplace then I can get in the back way. Cannot get in directely either through the phone or the PC. Just tried clearing on the PC, how do I do that on the phone, though?

intertac 03-06-2013 12:09 PM

Sometimes it takes your ISP (Comcast, Verizon, etc) 24-72hrs before they will pickup the DNS changes that have been made by GeoVario. It all depends on TTL (Time to Live) cache settings. Clearing your local PC DNS will not affect this as your local provider (if they still have not refreshed) will just feed you the old DNS information until which time it is renewed. Be patient.

Hope this helps.

paul0660 03-06-2013 12:12 PM

No issues here, but then I gave at the office.

http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w...1285851746.jpg

hammerli22 03-06-2013 4:33 PM

Is Calguns.net down try this if your having problems
 
You maybe reading this from Calguns.org:

Since some ppl maybe having problems getting to the calguns.net site even
after flushing the DNS cache, I would suggest this idea:

Do it the manual way.

http://216.218.212.241/calgunforum/index.php

Now when ever you click a link you substitute the ip address into where it would normal be www.calguns.net and then you can get in.

Another fix for you IT types, just go to your ip properties page for ipv4 and change the default DNS to point to the openDNS.com DNS server at

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

When your service providers DNS finally gets updated you can change it back if you want.

Hope this helps.

mievil 03-06-2013 4:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by paul0660 (Post 10732205)
No issues here, but then I gave at the office.

http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w...1285851746.jpg

Hard to look badass with TP in the background. :p

Doheny 03-06-2013 6:36 PM

Would that be affecting Tapatalk access too? I haven't been able to get on using Tapatalk all day. It says something about the site (CG) restricting access?

freonr22 03-06-2013 6:49 PM

How do you do that on an iPad?

savannah 03-06-2013 7:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by freonr22 (Post 10735543)
How do you do that on an iPad?

I also use an ipad most of the time. I am having to use the manual way to connect on my ipad.

freonr22 03-06-2013 7:28 PM

Finally got back to normal website on ipad

Doheny 03-06-2013 7:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by freonr22 (Post 10735993)
Finally got back to normal website on ipad

Access via Tapatalk is now working on my phone...

chknlyps2 03-06-2013 8:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hammerli22 (Post 10734258)
You maybe reading this from Calguns.org:

Since some ppl maybe having problems getting to the calguns.net site even
after flushing the DNS cache, I would suggest this idea:

Do it the manual way.

http://216.218.212.241/calgunforum/index.php

Now when ever you click a link you substitute the ip address into where it would normal be www.calguns.net and then you can get in.

Another fix for you IT types, just go to your ip properties page for ipv4 and change the default DNS to point to the openDNS.com DNS server at

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

When your service providers DNS finally gets updated you can change it back if you want.

Hope this helps.

I was good on my home computer but not on my phone, this fixed it for me... Thanks!

hammerli22 03-06-2013 10:07 PM

Because your ipad or iphone is using 3g/4g its using the telco phone dns server so you can't change that.

If your using wifi on iphone / android you can't do that if your setup at home is using dhcp. (majority of setups)

However if your set at home is using static ip address you maybe able to change or add the opendns server ip address to your router/gateway/wifi
if you long into your router and it allows that option.

If your running android and static ip you can to to advance setup and change the dns ip address to the opendns ip address.

-h

TML 03-06-2013 10:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hammerli22 (Post 10737589)
Because your ipad or iphone is using 3g/4g its using the telco phone dns server so you can't change that.

If your using wifi on iphone / android you can't do that if your setup at home is using dhcp. (majority of setups)

However if your set at home is using static ip address you maybe able to change or add the opendns server ip address to your router/gateway/wifi
if you long into your router and it allows that option.

If your running android and static ip you can to to advance setup and change the dns ip address to the opendns ip address.

-h

The iPhone and iPad, along with most other devices that support wired or wireless networking allow you to specify DNS servers on the device rather than having to modify the settings on your router, etc.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.