Calguns.net

Calguns.net (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   Young Calgunners (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   Firearms in Self Storage Units? (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=373008)

batstrider 12-14-2010 10:29 AM

Firearms in Self Storage Units?

Hey all,

I'm a student at UCI. The housing community where I'm currently living at restricts the possession of firearms and ammo, and of course, being that I'm so close to school, I'm pretty sure the GFSZ extends out to where I live.

I just picked up my 870 back home here in the Bay, and I'd really like to keep it closer to me than a 6 hour drive; I realize not having it in my immediate possession isn't ideal, but I'll take the next best thing. I'd probably be only using it for training, and, of course, zombie outbreaks which shouldn't be too frequent.. and that's only for the next 5 months or so, since I plan to move off-campus so I can legally keep my firearms without violating any law.

So, with that said: anybody in the Irvine area know of any self-storage units that allow firearms to be stored? Or any other similar options available?

Arias 12-14-2010 12:39 PM

Just read the fine print in any contract. I manage a self storage facility and have no clauses in the contract that prevent the storage of firearms. As long as your not stockpiling guns and ammo in your unit you should be good.

halifax 12-14-2010 12:58 PM

Most storage units are not climate controlled. Be certain to take rust preventative measures.

batstrider 12-16-2010 3:37 PM

Just got off the phone with Storage West in Irvine.

No restrictions on firearms, so if you're a student at UCI or anywhere near looking for a legal place to store your stuff, there you have it. They say they already have customers who are storing their guns there.

WDE91 12-17-2010 9:03 AM

Hmm I would try to store it a gunshop