PDA

View Full Version : Fully built AR question

IGOTDIRT4U
05-01-2008, 12:44 PM
I am new to this, so go easy.

I know of and have read the DOJ list of banned AR models. This is the loophole many are using for making AR's as new OLL's are being introduced.

Are there any new, complete AR rifles out there that are legal for sale in CA? I only can think of the Springfield SOCOM, but even that one I am not sure it is legal.

GenLee
05-01-2008, 12:54 PM
I am gonna chime in here before you get hammered. Re- read the penal code, Its not a LOOPHOLE its the law. A properly configured AR is just as legal as any other rifle.
Read it.
Learn it.
Then go build it.

5150Marcelo
05-01-2008, 12:54 PM
:xeno:

IGOTDIRT4U
05-01-2008, 1:00 PM
I am gonna chime in here before you get hammered. Re- read the penal code, Its not a LOOPHOLE its the law. A properly configured AR is just as legal as any other rifle.
Read it.
Learn it.
Then go build it.

You're missing the point. I am fully aware of how the OLL's are being bought to MAKE an AR model rifle. And I am fully aware that the AR models on the Penal Code list are banned. What I am asking for is in regard to fully built up AR models that are legal.

I did do a search. All I got was pages and pages of you guys discussing BUILDING up an AR from an OLL. I want to know if any fully built up factory models are legal. Such as the Springfield SOCOM.

pwall
05-01-2008, 1:01 PM
yes ammobros in cerritos has fully built ca compliant AR type rifles. Also I wouldn't call it a loophole. Unlike handguns, which have to be specifically approved by the doj to sell in CA, Long guns have no such list. Therefore any long gun is legal for sale in CA as long as it does not qualify as an assault weapon under CA law. To me thats not a loophole! The Springfield Socom is sold in gunshops everywhere across the state, perfectly legal. ;)

5150Marcelo
05-01-2008, 1:03 PM