PDA

View Full Version : stag 2h upper

cj1026
04-28-2008, 12:37 PM
Does anyone know if a stag 2h upper pre ban is legal here in California.

Spaceghost
04-28-2008, 12:43 PM
Why wouldn't it be? Spare parts can be sold through the mail legally. Only firearm receivers need to go through a FFL. Now, what you do with upper might be illegal. How about some details on what you are planning to do with it?

BP88
04-28-2008, 12:50 PM
I have one. This pic was taken a couple of days ago at Burro Canyon. I have zero complaints about this upper. It shoots miraculously!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v419/Brianppp/meshootingar.jpg

cj1026
04-28-2008, 1:02 PM
I ordered one from rifle gear and got it today. A guy I work with said it was illegal because it has a bayonet lug. Just wondering this is my first build.

Spaceghost
04-28-2008, 1:06 PM
Bah, the guy at your work doesn't know what he is talking about. The bayo lug thing was part of the Fed ban that expired years ago.

I ordered one from rifle gear and got it today. A guy I work with said it was illegal because it has a bayonet lug. Just wondering this is my first build.

Kooter
04-28-2008, 1:08 PM
Anyone, correct me if I am wrong but... the whole pre/post ban has to do with the "Federal Assault Weapon Ban" which has since expired, so it really no longer applies in CA.

My "pre-ban" upper does in fact have a bayonet lug though.

cj1026
04-28-2008, 1:15 PM
Ok guys thanks for the input.

shark92651
04-28-2008, 2:14 PM
:fud:

I have to answer that one about once a week to customers. It's amazing how many people call back to say that someone at turners told them the parts I sold them were illegal. Recently someone told me that Turners told him that his fixed magazine rifle was illegal because it had a forward vertical grip - despite the fact that it had a rear pistol grip. He thought rear grip was ok, but forward grip was not. Go figure...