PDA

View Full Version : CCW AR15?

ASTAR27
08-19-2014, 9:52 PM
I am new to the CCW world and trying to educate myself before getting involved in it. I know that I can only have guns registered to myself on my CCW and I bought an M&P 40 Shield for CCW. What I'm wondering is, can I list my AR as well? Not that I would regularly try to carry it but I do go camping often and having it loaded and concealed in my truck would be of benefit.
Legal?
Thanks!

CSACANNONEER
08-19-2014, 9:56 PM
AR rifle or AR pistol? There is no way to get a rifle on a permit since, by definition, a rifle is not capable of being concealed. As far as an AR pistol goes, that would depend on your IA and their policies. Also, there is no law stating that a gun has to be registered to you to be put on your permit but, I don't know of an IA that doesn't make it their policy.

ASTAR27
08-19-2014, 10:01 PM
Thanks for the quick reply! Yes, I'm talking about my rifle.
Oh, maybe I misread the rules for CCW as far as registration. Does it depend on the county (Placer)?
Also, forgive my ignorance but what is an IA?

CSACANNONEER
08-19-2014, 10:05 PM
Issuing Agency.

No, I doubt you misread the requirements for your IA. I don't know of any IA that will allow an unregistered handgun on a permit. Ironically, once on a permit, they send the info to Ca DOJ and it would become "registered". But, the IAs aren't bright enough to figure that out.

Quiet
08-20-2014, 6:56 AM
CA has a License To Carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person. Which only allows the permit holder to conceal carry "handguns" that are listed on their permit. So, no rifles or shotguns can be listed on a CA LTC permit.

Mossy Man
08-20-2014, 7:13 AM
How would you conceal an AR Pistol?

Sling and a trenchcoat?

Mossy Man
08-20-2014, 7:19 AM
Oh forgot sunglasses and black leather gloves

CSACANNONEER
08-20-2014, 7:21 AM

Sling and a trenchcoat?