PDA

View Full Version : Transport to/from range shop etc.

PeacePiece
04-19-2008, 1:23 PM
Sorry, tried desperately to search for this but search appears to be broken. I'm going to a shooting range today and want to get the answer fairly soon, so I felt the need to post. :)

I am new to CA and want to ensure I'm following the rules, as stupid as many of us (myself included) think they are.

I do not have a CCW.

I want to transport two of my guns from my home to the shooting range legally. If they are unloaded and locked in the trunk until arrival at the range, is that OK?

Can I put them in a knapsack/bookbag or something? Or - would that be considered carrying concealed when I remove the knapsack and carry it into the range?

I know they can't be loaded.

Thanks guys.

Librarian
04-19-2008, 1:31 PM
Sorry, tried desperately to search for this but search appears to be broken. I'm going to a shooting range today and want to get the answer fairly soon, so I felt the need to post. :)

I am new to CA and want to ensure I'm following the rules, as stupid as many of us (myself included) think they are.

I do not have a CCW.

I want to transport two of my guns from my home to the shooting range legally. If they are unloaded and locked in the trunk until arrival at the range, is that OK?

Can I put them in a knapsack/bookbag or something? Or - would that be considered carrying concealed when I remove the knapsack and carry it into the range?

I know they can't be loaded.

Thanks guys.
HANDGUNS must be carried, unloaded, in a locked container. For purposes of transport, your locked trunk is sufficient, and carrying them in a bag is fine.

IF you have to move the handguns through a publicly accessible area, they must STILL be in a locked container - like, from the parking lot to the firing line.

Any lockable bag, that cannot be opened without opening or removing the lock, is fine; 'hard' cases are perceived to be better by many.