PDA

View Full Version : Heard from a LEO in the store the other day....

FortCourageArmory
04-14-2008, 1:52 PM
Before I get into the meat oif this, this is not posted as a bash to any law enforcement officer out there. I wore the badge myself some time back. That being said, I was handling customers in the store on Friday and had a couple of local LEOs waiting their turn. They got to looking at the orange magnet that Michel & Trutranich put out about not consenting to search whatever the magnet was attached to. One of the customers got on to the subject of vehicle searches and not consenting to search came up. The lieutenant said, "that's nice you don't consent. Now get out, I'm going to search." I tried to clarify that I understood that a LEO was allowed to search just what he was able to see in an average traffic stop unless he had PC to go further. The lieutenant said something about "not as long as there's a vehicle exemption". It's been a while since I was a sworn officer, so I had nothing to come back with about that. The more we talked about it, the more I got the impression that these two were going to search whether I wanted them to or not and whether or not they had PC. The one even hinted that he would "find" PC if necessary. I thought that was pretty ballsy of these two to basically say my rights meant so little to them.

mymonkeyman
04-14-2008, 2:02 PM
They can search a car for weapons within access of the driver or any passenger (basically anything except a separate trunk) upon reasonable suspicion that the person is dangerous or possesses a weapon (only after pulling them over for PC of course).

That said, lots of LEOs are so used to getting consent for a search, they have no idea what the law is when they don't have consent (except for a few departments which have gone away from consent searches due to court smackdowns).

packnrat
04-14-2008, 2:10 PM