PDA

View Full Version : When my Grandfather passed I got his 22LR

Briarfox
04-13-2008, 10:06 PM
I was reading the post "Out of State, Inter-Family Handgun Gift?" and got to thinking about a 22LR and 22 Revolver that my grandfather game when when he passed away in the late 80's. Bother were purchased by him and his brother when they were kids.

My question is, Do I have to register them? I'm very new to the gun world and am not sure what I'm legally required to do.

rkt88edmo
04-13-2008, 10:23 PM
IIRC, if you received the guns in the late eighties and were in CA at the time, you aren't required to do anything but enjoy them.

Briarfox
04-14-2008, 7:44 AM
I do not have any proof other then my grandfather passing. And does this apply for the handgun and LR? I can't see a cop making a fuss over a .22 anyway. I'm just wondering if I'm risking anything buy plinking with these at the range.

hawk1
04-14-2008, 7:53 AM
Applies to both. rkt88edmo gave you good information as to why. The range you plink at could care less. A policeman would only care if it was used in a crime.

Briarfox
04-14-2008, 7:57 AM
So If I get pulled over and asked if they are registered I can explain that they are not and were acquired in the late 80's no proof necessary?

rkt88edmo
04-14-2008, 8:01 AM
Transfers of handguns through FFLs in CA (CA handgun DROS records/de facto handgun registration) only became mandatory in 1991.

Briarfox
04-14-2008, 8:07 AM
rkt88edmo, Hawk1, Thanks for the info. I was a question that has been nagging me for years.

hawk1
04-14-2008, 9:07 AM
So If I get pulled over and asked if they are registered I can explain that they are not and were acquired in the late 80's no proof necessary?

I think I would re-word that a bit and instead if asked "are they registered" I'd say they were willed to you back in the 80's by your late grandfather who was the original owner.

AJAX22
04-14-2008, 9:15 AM
There is no provision which requires you to register the pistols that you own.