PDA

View Full Version : cal. sks and 22 gun law question.

Rac97crawford
04-10-2008, 6:48 AM
Hello all. I'm new to the sight so I don't know if I'm posting this in the right place but here goes.
I have a russian sks. I wanted to change the stock so I learned about all the 922r stuff. So I'm up now on all that. So now if I understand the laws right on what is "considered" and "assault weapon" As long as I have an american made fixed magazine then I can basically add whatever I want to the gun.

I.E., put on the pistol grip that came with the tapco stock, put a folding stock on, put a forward grip on it, (if I can figure out how to do that), and/or add a muzzle break. And it would still be legal because it isn't an "assault rifle".
Is that correct?

Along the same lines I know that a 22 rim fire is not an assault rifle. So can I take my 10/22 and add all the stuff I mention in the i.e. above and still have it be legal?

Thanks for the help.

ohsmily
04-10-2008, 7:02 AM
Hello all. I'm new to the sight so I don't know if I'm posting this in the right place but here goes.
I have a russian sks. I wanted to change the stock so I learned about all the 922r stuff. So I'm up now on all that. So now if I understand the laws right on what is "considered" and "assault weapon" As long as I have an american made fixed magazine then I can basically add whatever I want to the gun.

I.E., put on the pistol grip that came with the tapco stock, put a folding stock on, put a forward grip on it, (if I can figure out how to do that), and/or add a muzzle break. And it would still be legal because it isn't an "assault rifle".
Is that correct?

Along the same lines I know that a 22 rim fire is not an assault rifle. So can I take my 10/22 and add all the stuff I mention in the i.e. above and still have it be legal?

Thanks for the help.