PDA

View Full Version : Assembly to Consider Severe Restrictions on Ammunition Sales


Peashooter
04-09-2008, 9:00 PM
Assembly to Consider Severe Restrictions on Ammunition Sales -- Contact Committee Members Today!

Yesterday, April 8, the Assembly Public Safety Committee considered legislation that would require gun owners to obtain a "permit-to-purchase" before buying handgun ammunition.

The bill passed out of committee despite Assemblyman Anderson's no vote. AB 2062's next committee assignment is the Committee on Appropriations.

Assembly Bill 2062 would require that law-abiding gun owners obtain a permit to buy handgun ammunition and would impose severe restrictions on the private transfers of handgun ammunition. Applicants for a "permit-to-purchase" would be required to submit to a background check, pay a $35 fee, and wait as long as 30 days to receive the permit.

Under AB2062, it would be unlawful to privately transfer more than 50 rounds of ammunition per month, even between family and friends. Ammunition retailers would have to be licensed and store ammunition in such a manner that it would be inaccessible to purchasers. The bill would also require vendors to keep a record of the transaction including the ammunition buyer's name, driver's license, the quantity, caliber and type of ammunition purchased, and right thumbprint, which would be submitted to the Department of Justice or the number of their handgun ammunition purchase permit.

All ammunition sales in the State of California would be subject to a $3 per transaction tax. Lastly, mail order ammunition sales would be prohibited. Any violator of AB2062 would be subject to civil fines.

Please email Assemblyman Anderson and let him know you support his efforts against this outrageous attack on our second amendment rights!

Assemblymember.Anderson@asm.ca.gov

Please also contact the members of the Assembly Appropriations Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose this onerous attack on our Second Amendment freedoms.



Mark Leno - Chair Dem-13

(916) 319-2013

Assemblymember.leno@assembly.ca.gov

Mimi Walters - Vice Chair Rep-73

(916) 319-2073

Assemblymember.walters@assembly.ca.gov

Anna M. Caballero Dem-28

(916) 319-2028

Assemblymember.Caballero@assembly.ca.gov

Mike Davis Dem-48

(916) 319-2048

Assemblymember.Davis@assembly.ca.gov

Mark DeSaulnier Dem-11

(916) 319-2011

Assemblymember.DeSaulnier@assembly.ca.gov

Bill Emmerson Rep-63

(916) 319-2063

Assemblymember.emmerson@assembly.ca.gov

Warren T. Furutani Dem-55

(916) 319-2055

Assemblymember.Furutani@assembly.ca.gov

Jared Huffman Dem-6

(916) 319-2006

Assemblymember.Huffman@assembly.ca.gov

Betty Karnette Dem-54

(916) 319-2054

Assemblymember.Karnette@assembly.ca.gov

Paul Krekorian Dem-43

(916) 319-2043

Assemblymember.Krekorian@assembly.ca.gov

Doug La Malfa Rep-2

(916) 319-2002

Assemblymember.lamalfa@assembly.ca.gov

Ted W. Lieu Dem-53

(916) 319-2053

Assemblymember.Lieu@assembly.ca.gov

Fiona Ma Dem-12

(916) 319-2012

Assemblymember.Ma@assembly.ca.gov

Alan Nakanishi Rep-10

(916) 319-2010

Assemblymember.nakanishi@assembly.ca.gov

Pedro Nava Dem-35

(916) 319-2035

Assemblymember.nava@assembly.ca.gov

Sharon Runner Rep-36

(916) 319-2036

Assemblywoman.Runner@assembly.ca.gov

Jose Solorio Dem-69

(916) 319-2069

Assemblymember.solorio@assembly.ca.gov

C.G.
04-09-2008, 11:10 PM
:dupe:
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=95606