PDA

View Full Version : Carbine or Mid-Length AR15 Upper?

Mezcalfud
03-17-2008, 12:05 AM
I have one of each 16" picked out, and they are equal in price without the bcg. I can not decide on one and can't afford both. I read thad carbine needs the heavier bcg and hbuffer due to short stroking, and is generally rougher on parts? Midlength can run on a standard bcg and has less jump.

This is my first AR15 build and my lower is almost done. LMT and Sabre are quality from what I have seen, so just feedback and experience on the systems is what I can use.

SuperSet
03-17-2008, 12:09 AM
It's not a hard choice.. get the midlength for the reasons you already mentioned.

dfletcher
03-17-2008, 12:16 AM
I'm new to the whole AR build adventure, went with this as a starter.

http://www.model1sales.com/item-detail.cfm?ID=UDE160CL&storeid=1&image=udispre.gif

I got the A3 flat top and a no site gas block only up front. It has the full length gas assembly.

jandmtv
03-17-2008, 12:35 AM
get the midlength

Deadred7o7
03-17-2008, 12:49 AM
Every time I go to Model 1 sales check out I get a page that pops up that says "There is a problem with this website's security certificate." what give is it my puter or their site??

J_Rock
03-17-2008, 1:12 AM
there are no disadvantages to a midlength

aplinker
03-17-2008, 4:03 AM
Heh. Early on, the naysayers claimed the disadvantage was the rarity of midlength gas tubes and handguards.

Not that rare anymore.

How old are you?! ;) Did they make flat-tops back then? :p

There are so many reasons to get mid-length, while the only reason to go carbine is to mimic the M4.

railroader
03-17-2008, 6:55 AM