PDA

View Full Version : a completely ridiculous bet

T Guns
03-16-2008, 9:20 PM
I'm not a gun expert or anything (pretty much a beginner) but I do know a decent amount about firearms compared to the average Joe. last time I was at the outdoor range with some friends, my one friend and I had a pretty lengthy discussion/debate over the subject of long-range target shooting with rifles. anyways we came up with a ridiculous "what if" scenario and neither one of us can convince the other who is right/wrong. this is all just for fun, but I figured instead of talking out of thin air with my limited knowledge, some rifle experts on this forum could give me some insight into who is "more" right (or wrong)...anyways, it goes something like this:

so we were on a private range, guessing it was 150~200 yards. my friend has a cheap but reliable Mosin-Nagant (not sure exactly which model, one of the standard/long rifles though). we were setting up targets at probably about 150 yards. he is clearly a better shot than me-- no optics, just the iron sights, at one point he hit something like 4/5 shots into maybe a basketball-sized target. anyways he was making consistent hits while I'm not even close most of the time. I think he has 15/20 vision or something! crap.

anyways, this situation got us into an entire debate about long-range shooting. he seems to think if he had a rifle that was capable of firing far enough along with a decent optic/sight, he could easily hit a target at 1000 yards. now again I'm no expert, but from what little I know I tried to argue that at 1000+ yards a lot more factors come into play than just your general marksmanship ability. we kept debating back and forth but since neither one of us are that knowledgeable about this kind of stuff, it just became a pointless discussion! for some reason we set the following "standards" as a definition of what we're talking about in this debate:

- modern rifle w/optics (unspecified)
- 1000 yards
- 10 shots