PDA

View Full Version : Hey guys, complete beginner here.

R3537
03-10-2008, 3:09 AM
Alright guys, i'm about to turn 20 very soon, and i've been wanting a gun for a while now. I've been mildly researching the types of rifles out there and what I want and what I can afford coupled with the fact of what I think I can handle. Here's the catch, this would be my very first firearm. I've never shot one. My brother has a berretta M9(I think?) that i've held but that's about it. Yeah.

So obvious wants is for me to be able to afford and own a highly customized M4gery. But seeing as how i've never owned a gun, never shot a gun, barely have held a gun, and don't have THAT much money to spend on a whim...I think the idea while maybe good in the future might not be the best idea currently. :)

Keeping that in mind I feel as though there are a few guns i've heard would do well...
The 1022 keeps popping up everywhere I go, and in terms of milisurp I like the K98 and the Mosin nagant with emphisis on the former. Seeing as how I could buy like 3 of the millisurp guns for the prices i've seen for 1022s and for the factor that they have history appeals to me more.

Lastly, my apartment is just that an apartment, so the whole going out to the back yard and shooting isn't an option. How comfortable are ranges with a person who has just bought there first gun at a target and attempting to even operate the gun, let alone shoot it? :rolleyes:

Suggestions? Comments? Laughs? :)

mchector
03-10-2008, 3:30 AM
I'm still kind of a noob too, do you have a more experienced friend to go to the range with you? That helped me a lot too ( I didn't know what I was doing)

If not you might want to post your location, I'm sure theres plenty of calgunners who are willing to go with you :cool:

DedEye
03-10-2008, 3:56 AM