PDA

View Full Version : Best bolt action tactical Rifle under $2500

Stag-hunter
02-19-2008, 6:26 AM
A few things I'm looking for in this rifle:
1/4" MOA accuracy
between 8 & 9-1/2 lbs
Caliber; 308 Win.
McMillan or H&S style stocks. ( I hate the triangle Italian style look)
The price doesn't have to include scope or bi-pod.

If you know a gun smith that could make this rifle custom for the same money then please give me the info.

I was looking at the Kimber 8400 advanced tactical but I have no experience with Kimber.
The sako TRG22 is not an option. The TRG is ugly as hell (IMHO)

Thanks in advance for the help,

Rich

rksimple
02-19-2008, 6:52 AM
A few things I'm looking for in this rifle:
1/4" MOA accuracy
between 8 & 9-1/2 lbs
Caliber; 308 Win.
McMillan or H&S style stocks. ( I hate the triangle Italian style look)
The price doesn't have to include scope or bi-pod.

If you know a gun smith that could make this rifle custom for the same money then please give me the info.

I was looking at the Kimber 8400 advanced tactical but I have no experience with Kimber.

Thanks in advance for the help,

Rich

Randy at R+D Precision in Glendora could do it in your price range. It'll take a few months though.

Your weight requirement is a little crazy, especially with glass. You'd have to cut the barrel way down (and lose a bunch of velocity), flute it, and get a lighter countour. You'd also probably have to go with a lighter filled McMillan to make weight. Add any decent base, rings and tac scope, and bipod, and you'll never make that weight.

Are you more concerned with looks than performance? You mentioned you "hate the triangle italian style look" and "the trg is ugly as hell."