PDA

View Full Version : Bringing Rifles/Parts into CA

Lower86
02-17-2008, 1:52 PM
Hello all, I've been lurking for awhile, I finally had to register and ask for advice.
I am a CA resident on active military duty stationed in Texas. By TX law, I am exempt from the requirement to be a resident to purchase firearms here. I'm trying to find where this can be beneficial to me.
Is it possible for a person in this situation to purchase an "evil" rifle out of state, render it CA compliant (i.e. fixed 10 rd magazine) and then bring it into CA? If so, could the compliant weapon be transported by the owner or would it need to be shipped to an FFL in CA for registration first?
My other wonder is what is the limit of parts that I could via mail or personal transportation, bring into the state of CA (i.e. an AR minus a Lower reciever, etc) that could be assembled in CA?
Thanks

DesertGunner
02-17-2008, 2:05 PM
Hello all, I've been lurking for awhile, I finally had to register and ask for advice.
I am a CA resident on active military duty stationed in Texas. By TX law, I am exempt from the requirement to be a resident to purchase firearms here. I'm trying to find where this can be beneficial to me.
Is it possible for a person in this situation to purchase an "evil" rifle out of state, render it CA compliant (i.e. fixed 10 rd magazine) and then bring it into CA? If so, could the compliant weapon be transported by the owner or would it need to be shipped to an FFL in CA for registration first?
My other wonder is what is the limit of parts that I could via mail or personal transportation, bring into the state of CA (i.e. an AR minus a Lower reciever, etc) that could be assembled in CA?
Thanks