PDA

View Full Version : Complete lower half or build?

Born2Lose
02-15-2008, 5:36 PM
I've finally convinced my wife that i need an OLL. She said that i'll get one for my birthday in april...now that being said i'm gonna go the monsterman route because i have a bunch of preban hi-caps.

I'd like to end up with a flat top style AR with short hand guards and a reflex site.

I was thinking of just buying a stripped stag lower from DD's because i've bought 2 guns from them in the recent past and their service and prices are great.

However, i was on Lanworlds site and i saw they sell a complete lower half that includes: stag lower, parts kit, mm grip, A-2 stock, i assume buffer/spring, all installed for $286.50. It does not come with an ambi safety but they said it's $25 and they'd install that for me.

How would this compare in price to me buying all the pieces seperate and installing them myself? I am a contractor and a car guy so i think my mechanical skill would easily enable me to do this, but if its not much of a savings then i would prefer to skip that all together..plus i could talk my wife into it and i'd be that much closer to a finished AR.

Any input would be appreciated.

JagerTroop
02-15-2008, 5:55 PM
The amount of money you will save (building) is not much, if any. However, the knowledge you will gain is priceless. You will have a better understanding of your rifle, and also have a sense of pride, knowing you built your own. Much like the rich guy who knows NOTHING about cars that buys his musclecar, as opposed to the shadetree mechanic who busts his knuckles to have something he can be proud of. It's ultimately your choice, but I recomend building... at least the lower.

viras
02-15-2008, 6:25 PM