PDA

View Full Version : Problem with my AR kit

1lostinspace
02-02-2008, 12:06 AM
I am assembling a Mega lower with Del-ton kit and have ran into a big problem.
I was hammering in the trigger guard roll pin and the damn thing has about 1/8 of an inch to go and will not budge I have started mushrooming the pin up.

What should I do? send it to a gunsmith?

sloguy
02-02-2008, 12:10 AM
im not an expert on this, but, id drive it out from the other side and get a new pin. maybe lube it up before the next try.

edit: also, what hammer were you using?

Sharnhorst
02-02-2008, 12:31 AM
This wouldent be the pin on the magwell side would it?

C.G.
02-02-2008, 12:39 AM
This wouldent be the pin on the magwell side would it?

It didn't happen to me either, I can watch TV and build a lower, no problem!:D

supersonic
02-02-2008, 4:30 AM
Knock pin out from other side. Get NEW / CORRECT pin. Polish it a bit. Liberally CLP it. Then go here (about 1/4 of the way down *green -taped pliers*):http://ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=4&t=226782

donger
02-02-2008, 7:00 AM
Grab a pair of channel lock/vise grips, tape them up so you won't scratch the receiver. Then pop it into place.

http://www.kevinholman.com/byor/pins/03%20Position%20Mag%20Release.jpg

DJMAN
02-02-2008, 7:23 AM
Im sure this is not going to be your last last build so go to sears and get one of these roll pin punches. So many people have broken their lowers trying to save a few bucks on assembly.http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p98/djman78/punch.jpg

dw1784
02-02-2008, 11:40 AM
I did that once. The pin should be on the pistol grip side, not the magwell side(flip the trigger guard 180). It's a cosmetic issue really, as the trigger guard still functions as released, just that it swivels from the magwell side instead of the pistol grip side.