PDA

View Full Version : Auto Ordnance 1911 problem

Grouch
01-28-2008, 2:38 PM
Ok so I finally got a bushing wrench and was able to disassemble and clean the Auto Ordnance 1911 I was given by my grandfather.

While I am a 1911 noob, I've field stripped and reassembled the colt 1911 without issue.

On the Auto Ordnance I've noticed now that when the slide is released forward using the slide stop, the hammer follows and then moves to a 1/2 cocked (more like 1/4 cocked) position, instead of staying in the fully cocked position. I assume the same will happen during live fire.

The hammer remains fully cocked if I release the slide slower and provide resistance with my hand.

I did not have this problem prior to my field stripping and cleaning and it functioned fine for the 50 rounds I put through it before cleaning .

What did I do?

Grouch
01-28-2008, 2:47 PM
eh I'm reading that this isn't uncommon with match weapons when th sears get worn. This was my g-pa's back up target 1911 and it has had some work done on it.

Black Majik
01-28-2008, 2:51 PM
How bad is the sear / hammer hooks?

JMB1911
01-28-2008, 2:55 PM
Sounds like the disconnector may be damaged. This would cause the hammer to fall when the slide moves forward. If your finger was on the trigger during live fire, you would go full auto with a broken disconnector. But since you're releasing the slide without your finger on the trigger, the hammer stops at the half-cock notch. Do a function test. Cock the hammer then pull the trigger. Keep your finger on the trigger and keep the trigger in its most rearward position. Pull the slide back and let it go forward with your trigger finger still holding the trigger back. The hammer should stay cocked until you release the trigger and pull it back again. If the hammer falls when the slide goes forward, then you need a new disconnector.

Grouch
01-28-2008, 3:01 PM
How bad is the sear / hammer hooks?

I've never done more than field strip it.

Grouch
01-28-2008, 3:05 PM