PDA

View Full Version : self defense 911 related injury

Warrior King
10-22-2013, 10:40 AM
This occurred in California.

I know a person who is on permanent disability and in pain. Her infant son was in the house.

Ex husband was outside her home. I believe he was talking about killing himself drunk and high.

She called 911 and the dispatcher told her to unload her gun and hide the bullets. The ex, a huge guy, broke in and assaulted her demanding the bullets.

She sustained permanent debilitating injuries and can not work and needs strong pain killers.

Is there a lawsuit for dispatcher telling her to disarm? Is there a statue of limitations on lawsuit against the city/co for this type of case?

AAShooter
10-22-2013, 10:47 AM
I am not a lawyer but I doubt there is any liability there. They are not the police and have not authority to command you to do anything. -just one man's opinion.

Lifeon2whls
10-22-2013, 11:16 AM
I would also not expect that there is any liability on the dispatcher. There are a litany of reasons why but the main is that the dispatcher is not on site and only knows what the person on the phone is telling them. Good or bad advice, they could be held liable for anything they say if things go wrong.

In this case there are no details to support why the dispatcher told the disabled woman to unload the firearm. The only thing I can guess from the few details you provided was that she may have been untrained on how to use it and was afraid that the Ex would break in and take the gun. The dispatcher MAY have told her to unload the gun and hide the bullets so that the drunk/high ex would not gain access to the gun and use it against her. This seems most logical as someone who is trained with a firearm and in fear of their life would most likely not follow the course of action this woman did.