PDA

View Full Version : To scope or not to scope lever action

Sparks57
10-18-2013, 9:58 PM
I grew up shooting my grandfather's 30-30 Winchester. I just purchased a Rossi 30-30 Rio Grande. It has a great classic look to it. I pick it up next week. The Rio Grande comes with scope mounts. I'm just getting into long guns, as I've only had handguns. So, I bought an AK47 and the Rio Grande.
Sorry for the long intro, the question is, do I get a scout a scope for the Rio Grande? I think I might be breaking some John Wayne code, but my eyes aren't what they used to be, and the scope is appealing to me. If the scope is a go, what scope do you recommend?
I'd like to keep the price down.

kielbasavw
10-18-2013, 10:04 PM
This is what I did
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v312/ezkiel/20130831_195543-1_zpsded34321.jpg

Sparks57
10-18-2013, 10:23 PM
Thanks for sharing Kielbasavw, how do you like the scope on the rifle?
I am a newbie to scopes, what type of scope do you have?

TMB 1
10-18-2013, 10:31 PM
Rio Grande is side eject like Marlin. I would put a Vintage Weaver K2.5 on it. I see them go for $30 to $70 on ebay depending on type reticle and condition.

TURNKEY13
10-19-2013, 6:01 AM
Not a scope expert here, but two things. Scopes are like glasses, if you need them, use them. Otherwise shooting will be no fun if ya cant hit anything. Also, regarding the lower pic, looks like waaaaay to much eye relief. The rear AO should be closer to the hammer, or at least where its comfortable for you without creeping to far forward. Lastly, my opinion on the old west rifle/scope look, i think it looks best with a lower power smaller glass, maybe 32 mm OB's as to not take to much away from the rifle. Besides, in the old days, they didnt have 56mm glass!!!! Ha!

SHEPHERD321
10-19-2013, 6:03 AM
one vote for no scope

ely
10-19-2013, 6:11 AM