PDA

View Full Version : Confusion on carrying in a motor vehicle

Shanesmyname
10-08-2013, 7:00 AM
I know that when carrying firearms it has to be unloaded and in a locked container. But can a firearm be with me at all times? Or can it only be with me when going shooting/gun store/legal gun related activities?

tpc13
10-08-2013, 7:12 AM
If u have a CCW then with u. If not then no. No open carry in Ca unloaded either.

Mottmcfly
10-08-2013, 7:25 AM
I think the OP is asking about keeping it in the car at all times. My understanding is that as long as it's legally stored in the motor vehicle, there is no restriction on destination. IE: range, gun shop..

I'm no lawyer though..

sealocan
10-08-2013, 8:15 AM
there's a lot of great information for you at the "Calguns foundation" wiki information pages ...
look it up, I know I learned a lot there.

Librarian
10-08-2013, 10:46 AM
Commonly called a 'trunk gun' - http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/Transporting#A_.22trunk_gun.22

E Pluribus Unum
10-14-2013, 11:56 PM
If u have a CCW then with u. If not then no. No open carry in Ca unloaded either.

That would make hunting impossible....

Open carry is still legal in unincorporated areas...

RickD427
10-15-2013, 8:04 AM

Actually, this is pretty far from being correct. Open carry is only permiitted in unincorporated areas where shooting is permitted. In most urban counties, that rules out all, or nearly all, of the unincorporated areas from open carry.

Please refer to Penal Code section 26350 for the particulars.

fr33domfightr
10-18-2013, 11:25 AM
"25505 In order for a firearm to be exempted under this article,
while being transported to or from a place, the firearm shall
be unloaded and kept in a locked container, and the course of
travel shall include only those deviations between authorized
locations as are reasonably necessary under the circumstances."

"As used in Sections 17740, 23925, 25105, 25205, and 25610,
and in Article 3 (commencing with Section 25505) of Chapter 2