PDA

View Full Version : Disassembled OLL AR or PTR-91 legal?

mclovin
01-19-2008, 10:58 AM
I am a California resident currently serving in the Army on Active Duty and stationed in New Mexico. My wife and I will likely be moving back to California for a few years once my enlistment is done.

I am currently considering purchasing an AR or a PTR-91, but am reluctant to do so as I am not interested in violating CA state laws, having to sell the guns at a loss, or altering the rifle's functionality to render it CA legal. I would prefer to just keep them disassembled and stored until I leave the state.

Is it currently legal for me to bring a standard configuration OLL AR and/or a PTR-91 if I maintain them in a fully disassembled state for the duration of my stay in California?

Hopi
01-19-2008, 11:18 AM
Welcome to the forum!

If the rifles are truly off-list, then you can import them in a disassembled or CA-compliant configuration. Make sure to read the FAQ here before you reassemble them while in the state.

Enjoy your stay!

Lateralus
01-19-2008, 11:39 AM
^ What hopi said.

Thank you for your service!!

Hopi
01-19-2008, 11:40 AM
I still haven't seen that movie yet........

ghettoshecky
01-19-2008, 2:38 PM
I am a California resident currently serving in the Army on Active Duty and stationed in New Mexico. My wife and I will likely be moving back to California for a few years once my enlistment is done.

I am currently considering purchasing an AR or a PTR-91, but am reluctant to do so as I am not interested in violating CA state laws, having to sell the guns at a loss, or altering the rifle's functionality to render it CA legal. I would prefer to just keep them disassembled and stored until I leave the state.

Is it currently legal for me to bring a standard configuration OLL AR and/or a PTR-91 if I maintain them in a fully disassembled state for the duration of my stay in California?

Obtaining an Assault Weapons Permit for Active Duty Military Personnel: