PDA

View Full Version : non registered shotty

stainlesssoldier
01-11-2008, 3:47 PM
i recently aquired an unregistered shotgun and i wanted to make sure it is legal to own one. i also heard through a friend that it is legal to carry a shotty in the car/truck with ammo in a sidesaddle. i am new to calguns and want to get to know other advocates. any info will help. thanks

slick_711
01-11-2008, 3:57 PM
Depending on what "acquire" means, yes.

They don't register long guns anyway. Shotguns, rifles, as long as it's not an "assault weapon" type shotgun you are good to go.

bwiese
01-11-2008, 3:58 PM
Long guns are not really 'registered', per se. Once you legally have it in CA, there's not much record of it.

However, if you are CA resident, you generally need to acquire firearms thru the services of a CA FFL dealer along with paperwork/background check & 10 day wait. Exceptions are for "C&R"/antiques, and for transfers from direct family members within CA (grandparent/parent/child/grandchild relationships only).

Otherwise the firearm was illegally obtained.

Even if one of the specified family members above were to give the shotgun to you but was a non-CA resident, it would still have to go thru a CA FFL dealer to be legal - to keep the Feds/BATF happy, since state lines were crossed.

oaklander
01-11-2008, 4:02 PM
EDIT: what Bill said. . .

Seems like there are a lot of people asking about things that relate to Federal (not just state) firearms issues.

:rolleyes:

i recently aquired an unregistered shotgun and i wanted to make sure it is legal to own one. i also heard through a friend that it is legal to carry a shotty in the car/truck with ammo in a sidesaddle. i am new to calguns and want to get to know other advocates. any info will help. thanks

stainlesssoldier
01-11-2008, 4:16 PM