PDA

View Full Version : California Billing Address

ky2970
09-03-2013, 2:52 AM
This is kind of a specific case but basically, I'm a student in Arizona but my permanent address is in CA. As defined by law, I am a resident of Arizona while I am here (obviously during the school year). Anyways, I'm trying to get myself a BCM AR and of course most dealers won't sell because my billing address is in CA. Goddamn it's annoying. Although I suppose it makes sense because they wouldn't want to ship to an FFL and have to customer not be able to pick it up... I hate California gun laws. /endrant

rayz13
09-03-2013, 9:39 PM
um, pay cash? and list your arizona address? not sure if you could bring said AR back to CA though

Californio
09-04-2013, 7:42 AM
Check Arizona Law, to be sure, but transient students are usually considered residents of their parents State, unless you go with an AZDL/AZVR and other things you are considered a resident of your parents state. It varies in each State.

Librarian
09-04-2013, 12:26 PM
Check Arizona Law, to be sure, but transient students are usually considered residents of their parents State, unless you go with an AZDL/AZVR and other things you are considered a resident of your parents state. It varies in each State.

Feds are quite clear that students living in a state for college, are residents of that state for gun-buying purposes.

http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/Federal_residency_requirements

ATF Rule 80-21 Applying the above example to out-of-State college students it is held,
that during the time the students actually reside in a college dormitory
or at an off-campus location they are considered residents of the State
where the dormitory or off-campus home is located. During the time
out-of-State college students actually reside in their home State they
are considered residents of their home State.

SonofWWIIDI
09-04-2013, 1:13 PM