PDA

View Full Version : Yellowstone (WY, UT, MT) open carry

DeadmanWalkin
09-01-2013, 11:54 PM
Hi all,
I am going to go to Yellowstone and the website said that you can open carry in the park. It said to check the laws for wyoming, utah, and montana. So i looked at the links that yellowstone park provided and each state said that open carry is allowed on your person and in the car.

Then istarted browsing the web and started hearing things like open carry but unloaded or something like2 steps needed (rack the slide, pull the trigger) and a whole bunch of other stuff that just makes things confusing. I am new to the whole gun scene for the most part. I have never carried my gun open or concealed. I have a 1 year old son and plan on taking him on some hikes to see stuff along with my wife. I'd feel a little better being armed.

Does anyone know if open carry actually means i can have the gun ready to go? I knowit sounds like a stupid question but there is so much conflicting info out there that i would rather sound stupid than do something stupid and get arrested. Also, open carry in a car, could i then just be able to leave the handgun in my holster in the same loaded or unloaded (If the above question is answered that way) state? I know that all buildings inside yellowstone are designated as gun free. Thats fine i am mostly just worried about being out in no mans land. Granted a 9mm isnt going to take down a bear but if someone else is around i can shoot them in the leg so i can out run them (just kidding).

Like i said, i looked on the states law pages that yellowstone provided but the info is vague. So i turnto this forum because someone here has the answers.

Thanks for the help!

VegasND
09-02-2013, 7:43 AM
The '2-steps' is for Utah -- open carry without a permit means no round in chamber but loaded mag is okay. If you're not in Utah open carry loaded with no problem. Don't take it into any of the buildings in the park.

DeadmanWalkin
09-02-2013, 7:21 PM