PDA

View Full Version : Ammo shelf life.

DesertRunner
01-03-2008, 10:19 AM
For the past six months,ive kept a glock 17 with three 10 rd mags loaded with black hills hollow point 9mms next to my bed.

When i take the glock shooting,i unload the Hp's and shoot Winchester White Box.

Then i load the HP's back into the magazine when i get home.

Now,i am not cheap and i am not broke either......

But when should i "recycle" ammo?

The money spent on new HP"s doesnt really matter but should i worry?

I personnaly dont think so but i am no ammo expert by any means.I just wanna know what you guys think.

apbrian112
01-03-2008, 10:28 AM
ammo has a long shelf life... especially modern ammo. you shouldn't have anything to worry about.

PLINK
01-03-2008, 10:31 AM
You probably do not have to worry about the ammo going bad (expire) but I think you should practice with the HD ammo from time to time. Also, if you chamber these rounds you should be looking for bullet set back.

My .02 cents.

guimus
01-03-2008, 10:41 AM
For ammo kept in magazines (rather than in a more appropriate container for true long-term storage), I'd cycle through it every 6 months to a year. Gets you practice with your HD ammo and makes sure that the ammo doesn't sit around too long exposed to the elements. That said, there is nothing keeping it from staying useful for many many years, even when stored under your bed in magazines, unless you happen to float your bed on top of salt water.

For many militaries, standard practice is to store non-corrosive ammo up to 30 years. Corrosive-primed ammo generally has no finite life.

1911su16b870
01-03-2008, 10:53 AM
FWIW take that mag that is in your HD gun and run it first when you go to the range. Then load your hard ball and do your target work. When you get home, clean up and load new HD ammo in that mag. Personally I run alot of HD ammo in my HD guns, and I expect 100% reliability.

Kruzr
01-03-2008, 11:47 AM