PDA

View Full Version : AK parts kit - all created equal?

nat
01-01-2008, 8:40 PM
Hi there, I am a newbie to calguns, but I have been a lifelong shooter. I am great with tools and have a well stocked shop. An AK build seems like a lot of fun. I have been searching and reading and I have a couple questions.

Is there a preferred vendor to buy a parts kit from? Any country of origin that I should stay away from?

For a receiver flat, who is the best vendor? Any site that just gives the dimensions?

Thanks!!

FEDUPWBS
01-01-2008, 8:55 PM
Location? Sounds like you need to use the search button. And Google too

nat
01-01-2008, 9:02 PM
I am in Santa Cruz County. I found some big lists of vendors, just wondering who people like to use.

Builder
01-01-2008, 9:08 PM
I am in Santa Cruz County. I found some big lists of vendors, just wondering who people like to use.Building from a flat is not a trivial matter.
A Romy G parts kit works very well with an NDS-3 receiver. It takes about an hour to remove the remenants of the old receiver from the trunions. My first build was a screw build and has since been converted to a TIG weld. The last 3 have all been TIG builds. I prefer this as the barrel does not need to be removed. Many others prefer a rivet build. For the rivet build the barrel is removed.
Thanks,
Builder

FEDUPWBS
01-01-2008, 9:12 PM
Do lots of reading here http://www.akfiles.com/forums/index.php? and then decide weather to build or buy.

nat
01-01-2008, 9:29 PM
I definitely want to build one.

wilit
01-01-2008, 9:58 PM
Unfortunately you're a few months too late for the $99 Romanian G parts kits. Because of the 2005 barrel importation ban, prices have been going up steadily for the past year or so.