PDA

View Full Version : Driving with an OLL AR15

sac1022
12-28-2007, 10:50 PM
I am a newbie here. I would like to ask what kind of paper works I have to bring with me when driving with an OLL AR15 in my car. Of cause the rifle is unloaded and stored the trunk in a locked hard-case. All information will be appreciated.
Thanks.

Shane916
12-28-2007, 10:53 PM
http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=71762

and

http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/infobuls/kaslist.pdf

and

Info/Documents from:

http://thegunwiki.com/Gunwiki/LegalCalifornia

Your OLL doesn't have to be locked up by law, but if you want to then thats cool too :)

sac1022
12-28-2007, 11:14 PM
Thanks Shane916. You are the man.

I have another question. Does the magazine must stay with the gun or it can be removed?

Army
12-29-2007, 12:17 AM
Remove the upper. Leave the 10rd mag in the well, it is NON-REMOVABLE. (I would, even with a BB or P-50)

The only paperwork you need, is a drivers license, vehicle registration, and proof of insurance.

tacticalcity
12-29-2007, 12:24 AM
I would not bother removing the upper. There is no point. The lower is the weapon. It is the point of contention all by itself.

Odds are it will never come to any of this...but worst case, it is best to be prepared.

I keep my paperwork in my rifle case with the rifle. It is a typed summery of why my rifle is legal. It includes summaries of SB23, and the Harriot Decision, and includes the legal definition of a fixed magazine. It also includes the reference number in the CCR so if they doubt me they can look it up. My paperwork explains how the three legal points mentioned above apply to my specific build. It is idiot proof.