PDA

View Full Version : hunting in Pine Valley Wilderness/ Descanso district/ Cleveland National Forest.

california wolverine
12-21-2007, 6:25 PM
Hi ya folks, I am New to SoCal and was planning a 4 day hunting trip to the Pine Valley wilderness in the Cleveland NF in Jan Was wondering if anyone has hunted there? I am going for Jacks and Varmints, maybe Turkey in the season. Any info on that area would be much appreciated. Thanks and Good hunting to you all.
PS If'n any of you all want to go and show me around that'd be real nice. Thanks.

damon1272
12-21-2007, 7:01 PM
You may want to check that those areas did not burn in the last wild fires. I think you will be ok if you are hunting north of the 8. South of the 8 burn pretty good. Check out the kitchen creek and the huaser wilderness area.

emc002
12-22-2007, 10:59 AM
I lived in Alpine for 5 years and hunted most of the National Forest north of 8 on either side of the Sunrise Highway.
Let me know what you're looking to hunt and I would be happy to help if I can.
I mainly bowhunted deer, both Archery Only pre-season and the either sex antleress hunt after season (Thanksgiving to January 31).

california wolverine
12-22-2007, 5:51 PM
Going mostly for rabbits and non game animals. I am thinking about turkey too. wouldn't mind going for a deer though. How come there's no pig down here? I'll check on the burn condition Monday and let you all know. the web site says its open but you have to confirm things. Thanks

acousticmood
12-22-2007, 6:59 PM
Shameless tag.

emc002
12-22-2007, 11:09 PM
Well, you'll be in luck for varmits.
Only caveat here is I haven't lived there since 2002, so don't know about the latest fire, but my hunting area was spared in the 2000 and 2003 fires.

My preferred areas were on S1 aka Sunrise Highway.
Its been so long, I forget exactly where to park, but here are some guidelines: