PDA

View Full Version : Honest question about a broken 30 Rounder I found in a barrel at Burro Cyn

Citadelgrad87
11-26-2007, 1:34 PM
OK, I'm fairly new here, and have noticed a few "What if" threads about hypothetically "finding" hicaps vis a vis Kali law.

My bona fides, if you will: I have been shooting and collecting for over 25 years, my first hicaps were for my 10-22, pre 1987.

I have factory, legal, standard capactiy rounds for 3 pistols and 4 rifles, over 30 or so total, including milspec 30 rounders I bought with my registered ar before the ban kicked in. I don't NEED this to work out one way or another.

I found a single, broken, 30 round Orlite magazine at Burro Cyn several years ago, but well after the ban on new 10+ round magazines. It was sitting on top of other trash, the floorplate was either broken or missing, or the follower was, I can't really recall, all I remember is it had a decent body, but the magazine spring was hanging out. My brother in law was with me, he had no interest because he doesn't have an AR platofrm weapon, but he can confirm that I found the magazine.

I don't know why, but I dug it out of the trash, and took it home. I played with it while cleaning my weapons, and couldn't get it back together, confirming that it was probably not rash to throw it away.

What is the consensus if I can use the original parts to get it working? What about replacing any broken parts?

Again, I almost don't even have a horse in this race, I have 3 other Orlites, and 7 aluminum Milspecs that have all been loaded a single time to confirm function. I don't even shoot the AR much anyway.

I am just wondering the legal implications of repairing a truly found magazine.

FinweElensar
11-26-2007, 1:45 PM
Nice find. Keep it, finder's keepers. *wink-wink*

thedonger
11-26-2007, 1:55 PM
If as you say the follower or floorplate was missing was it really a complete mag? Or was it discarded parts?