PDA

View Full Version : Performance: AR vs. AK = Better???

slambo
11-16-2007, 8:32 PM
I am new to calguns, just built my first Stag lower, will be receiving my Stag upper in 10 days. I work with foreign cars in Dana Point, one of the guys is very pro AK. I am under the impression that the AR is better, more durable. Is this correct? Any and all information would be appreciated,

Thanks,

Steve

bobfried
11-16-2007, 8:38 PM
It's all relative.

Some say that the AK is flawless out of the box and will function after the cockroaches die out.

Some say that the AR is much more accurate and is a rifleman's choice in ergonomics, handling, speed and redundantly, accuracy.

To quote a firearms historian and than paraphrase him:

"If I were to be stuck on an unknown planet with no hope of help or resupply give me an AK! For the other times when I'm not, give me an AR."

But this is America so we do what we have always done: BUY BOTH!

And this is MY QUOTE, from ME:

Don't be the fool to think he has the best, be the man to have what's best for the situation.

Sam Hainn
11-16-2007, 8:41 PM
The FAL is better. :D

ghost
11-16-2007, 8:45 PM
imo for accuracy the ar hands down,for durability in all conditions the ak.i bet some folks will disagree with me,oh well:D

viras
11-16-2007, 8:45 PM
It's all relative.

Some say that the AK is flawless out of the box and will function after the cockroaches die out.

Some say that the AR is much more accurate and is a rifleman's choice in ergonomics, handling, speed and redundantly, accuracy.

To quote a firearms historian and than paraphrase him:

"If I were to be stuck on an unknown planet with no hope of help or resupply give me an AK! For the other times when I'm not, give me an AR."

But this is America so we do what we have always done: BUY BOTH!

And this is MY QUOTE, from ME:

Don't be the fool to think he has the best, be the man to have what's best for the situation.

:iagree: +1 to what he said. :iagree: