PDA

View Full Version : RR Predator Pursuit Mounting Optics


mozes
11-13-2007, 10:39 AM
Hey guys,
I'm currently looking for a 1 piece mount or rail/rings for my new RR Predator Pursuit. I'm trying to mount a SS 30mm scope with a 4inch eye relief. Any suggestions for this setup?
From some searches in the forum I came across a lot of people using the LaRue 1 piece mounts but just wanted to check and see if there were any other suggestions.

jandmtv
11-13-2007, 11:01 AM
promag makes a 1 piece mount in both sizes 1" and 30mm. ill send you a pm right now.

ar15barrels
11-13-2007, 12:40 PM
LaRue is the best solution.
On a budget, get a YHM scout rail and add appropriate rings to it.

mozes
11-13-2007, 1:02 PM
Thanks for all the input so far guys. I looked at the Promag however it doesn't seem to help much with eye relief.
I was on a budget but it looks like I should just hold out some more for the LaRue mount.

maxicon
11-13-2007, 1:14 PM
Many of the less expensive one-piece mounts don't add much eye relief. LaRue is the best, and has the extended SPR-E for extra length if you need it.

For half the price and nearly as much eye relief, the Armalite one-piece is very good. It's not QR, but semi QR with thumbscrews that stick out a bit. Repeatability has been very good on mine.

The Model 1 and RRA mounts both have relatively little extra eye relief over standard rings.

A really cheap, decent quality option is the CAA one-piece ($22), which only has one cross-slot mount, but has received good reviews from people who have used them. I have one, but haven't had time to mount it up and test it yet.
http://www.aimsurplus.com/acatalog/Command_Arms_Dual_Scope_Ring_Rail_Mount.html

For maximum flexibility if you plan on swapping scopes around between guns or need a lot of mounting position flexibility, an extended/scout riser and medium rings is a good bet, and there are lots of them around. The downside of them is that you have more connections between your flattop and scope that can loosen or shift on remount. This is my favorite setup, but I swap optics a lot. If you go this way and want to use BUIS, make sure there's enough room behind the rail for the sights.

For a good compromise between quality, stability, and affordability, the Armalite is hard to beat.

Here's a pic of the RRA Scout Rail (tons of space, but no room for a BUIS):
http://www.maxicon.com/guns/ar/varmint_leup_clone_rra_scout-a.jpg

Here's the GG&G scout rail, with almost enough room for an ARMS 40 BUIS:
http://www.maxicon.com/guns/ar/cmmg_ggg_scout-a.jpg

and here's the Armalite with a Mueller scope (barely enough eye relief for me with this long eyepiece):
http://www.maxicon.com/guns/ar/Fab10-Varmint-Mueller-3a.jpg

shark92651
11-13-2007, 1:21 PM
Price-wise and function-wise between a YHM riser with low rings and the LaRue SPR is the Armalite 1-piece mount.

http://www.cactustactical.com/osc/images/scopemount.jpg

It's a decent mount for the price. If you want the best and don't mind paying for it then the LaRue SPR is very nice.

gn3hz3ku1*
11-13-2007, 6:15 PM
CAA one-piece ($22),

do you guys know if this mount will be okay if you have a fixed front site?

ar15barrels
11-13-2007, 7:01 PM
A really cheap, decent quality option is the CAA one-piece ($22), which only has one cross-slot mount, but has received good reviews from people who have used them. I have one, but haven't had time to mount it up and test it yet.
http://www.aimsurplus.com/acatalog/Command_Arms_Dual_Scope_Ring_Rail_Mount.html

http://www.aimsurplus.com/acatalog/fobdvrs.jpg

I certainly would not mount a substantial scope in that mount, but it looks ok if you only use $30 scopes. ;)

ar15barrels
11-13-2007, 7:02 PM
CAA one-piece ($22),

do you guys know if this mount will be okay if you have a fixed front site?

Depends on what power scope you go with.
The lower the power, the more of the front sight you will see in the scope.

gn3hz3ku1*
11-13-2007, 7:04 PM
Depends on what power scope you go with.
The lower the power, the more of the front sight you will see in the scope.

4.5-14 okay?

ar15barrels
11-13-2007, 7:05 PM
4.5-14 okay?

The lower you turn the power, the more of the front sight you will see.
Just try it.
Only you can decide if it bothers you or not.

maxicon
11-14-2007, 9:55 AM
http://www.aimsurplus.com/acatalog/fobdvrs.jpg

I certainly would not mount a substantial scope in that mount, but it looks ok if you only use $30 scopes. ;)

I haven't tested mine yet, and it's hard to say how good a mount is by looking at a pic, but folks are arfcom who use them are having good luck with them. There's one guy who had trouble with it with a .50 Beowulf, so there may be an upper limit.
http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=18&t=345629

Lots of people are using them on the DMS-1, which isn't an expensive scope, but isn't a $30 scope either.
http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=18&t=326527

The 2 possible downsides I can see are:
- the single cross-slot screw, and whether that's an issue depends on the clamping design.

- It's a 30mm mount, and comes with a single insert per ring to adapt it to 1", rather than a pair. People who use them say they work fine, but I'll want to see how it actually works before commenting. This wouldn't be an issue with a 30mm tube.

Aside from that, the machining tolerances are the key, like any scope mount or rings. Seems unlikely you'd match the Armalite or Larue in a $22 mount, but that's one of the benefits of a one-piece - there's less tolerance stacking to cause trouble.

In any case, I can comment a bit better once I've had a chance to actually test mine.

Prc329
11-14-2007, 10:18 AM
People over at arf.com using it are just being cheap. I would definitely hold out for a Larue. Cry once and be happy. I have owned a few Larue mounts and will no longer mount a scope on an AR without one.

BTW I had a Larue/DMS-1 combo on a rifle and in 1 and 2x you could see the front sight. After that it was not visible. At 1 and 2x it really went unnoticed and didn't bother me.

gn3hz3ku1*
11-14-2007, 2:37 PM
ahaha you know im cheap like the guys at arf.com

ar15barrels
11-14-2007, 2:52 PM
I had a DMS-1 in a LaRue mount as well.
There's something funny about using a scope that costs the same as the mount...

Now I have a Trijicon Accupoint in a LaRue mount.
MUCH better scope.

maxicon
11-14-2007, 3:58 PM
Yeah, I had a $250 scope on a $100 10/22, and it was a bit amusing, but I already had the scope sitting around unused, so it only made sense.

Still, cheap is OK, as long as it works for what we need. We all make value trade-offs, or everyone would be using S&B Short Dots for 1-4x.

Prc329
11-14-2007, 4:03 PM
I had a DMS-1 in a LaRue mount as well.
There's something funny about using a scope that costs the same as the mount...

Now I have a Trijicon Accupoint in a LaRue mount.
MUCH better scope.

It was a little funny having that scope in the mount but I refused to mount it any other way on principle.