PDA

View Full Version : AK "IN BATTERY?"

supersonic
11-08-2007, 6:15 AM
Probably a real noob question, but I'm new to the platform: when chambering a round on a WASR10, the round chambers, the bolt appears to be up against rear of chamber, hammer DOES drop (snap cap test), but bolt CARRIER/CHARGING HANDLE ASSY. is still about 1/2" away from completely closing - like it DOES on an empty chamber. Is this as it should be? Or do I have problems? Thanks.

Vepr62
11-08-2007, 7:19 AM
Open your top cower and see if the bolt rotates/locks into locking lugs when the carrier goes forvard all the way. It supposed to lock the same on emty or loaded chamber. And let if "fly" forvard, don't follow it with your hand. Those are rugged firearms and bolt/carrier might "hang" if you are too gentle.
Vasiliy

supersonic
11-08-2007, 9:18 AM
Open your top cower and see if the bolt rotates/locks into locking lugs when the carrier goes forvard all the way. It supposed to lock the same on emty or loaded chamber. And let if "fly" forvard, don't follow it with your hand. Those are rugged firearms and bolt/carrier might "hang" if you are too gentle.
Vasiliy

Yeah, I know about "riding" the charging handle. Didn't do that. It seems as if the bolt is going into full rotation "lock," but the carrier just won't go that extra 1/2". BTW, it DID work finally w/ the snap cap, but with Wolf "dummies"(live rounds that I removed primer/powder from-and YES they are exactly the correct OAL as before), I'm back to the same problem.(?) Anyone have any insight/experience w/ this "phenomenon?"

swift
11-08-2007, 9:23 AM