PDA

View Full Version : Info on the DC Gun Ban case

JALLEN
11-02-2007, 10:32 AM
I am posting this here from Sig Forum where it appeared this morning. I do not know the author, or where he is or which law school he refers to, but it is of interest:

----------------
Yesterday I had the pleasure of hosting the lead attorney in the Parker case that overturned the DC gun ban. I am an officer in my law school's Federalist Society chapter and Alan Gura was kind enough to visit upon my invitiation.

Let me start off by saying we, as gunowners, are truly blessed to have Alan as the attorney handling this case. He is a genius, simply put. I have never met a practicing attorney with such a broad command of every nuance in constitutional law.

My biggest concern coming in to my meeting with Mr. Gura was how the Court will vote if they grant cert. He showed me language in some cases in which Justice Kennedy has stated that the second amendment is an individual right. Likewise, Ginsberg has defined the term "bear" by likening it to the second amendment. She stated that bear means to keep and to have, not to bear during service or some narrow definition such as that. I think those two things alone make this a 6-3 vote (at least), if Alito and Roberts go our way.

My next biggest concern was that how the circuit court's opinion might lead to a rubber stamp on registration. I was told that the issue to be decided has nothing to do with registration and that the sole issue to be decided is whether the SA grants an individual right to own firearms. Once we establish that principle then we can challenge registration and the government would have to satisfy strict scrutiny in order to permit registration. Once we make it there then it's the government on the defense. The way this case was picked is brilliant, it narrows the issue so much that the Court almost has to rule in our favor.